Southern/African Masked Weavers Taking A Bath

DSCN1015.JPG

While visiting Crocworld, I came across this pair of weavers bathing. I had to zoom in as they were about 50m from me and I was scared they will fly away if I came any closer. I was lucky to get a shot of each taking a dip in the water.

DSCN1016.JPG

You can find these birds in most parts of South Africa. They feed on insects like termites, aphids, locusts, beetles and caterpillar larvae; also on nectar from the Aloe plants and seeds. They live in the open woodlands, grassland and semi-deserts.

They are prey to Sparrow hawks, Purple Herons, Grey-headed bush-shrike, the Bird snake and domestic cats.

DSCN1017.JPG

Their breeding season is from September to January. The males build woven nests from reeds, grass leaves and palm pieces. The females line the nests with soft grass and feathers and lays about 2-4 eggs which is incubated for 12 days. Both parents make turns to feed the young. The chicks leave the nest anything from 17 to 21 days.

photos taken with Nikon L840.

Keep creating, smiling, reading, writing and voting!!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center