REDEMPTION

A month or so back...

I headed out on a Friday night to try to get to nearby mountain lake, only to find the road was still covered in snow (read this post about that) so I had to wait for another chance at clear weather a the road to be cleared enough to make it up there. A few weeks went by and we had some of our traditional Utah spring weather, warm temps one day, snow and cold the next. But finally I thought there might be a good chance the snow had melted enough so I rang up my nephew, who is getting into photography, and we headed up for a chance to get to the lake.

As we got to the dirt road, I was highly encouraged there was no snow on the road where I had to turn around a few weeks prior. We came across a few patches of snow on the road and at times I wasn't sure my street tires would make it across the snow, but with a little speed (ok, a lot of speed) we made it passed the snow and arrived to the rather muddy parking lot, but we made it!

20220429-ILCE-7RM3-006.jpg
The view that treated us from the parking lot, just in time to catch the last bit of sunlight on the peaks

20220429-ILCE-7RM3-038.jpg
The shore around the ice was just starting to melt, I didn't dare walk on it though


After the sun went down we had a few hours until the milky way came up so we opted to take a quick 2 hour nap. My alarm went off around midnight and I got up and started my two cameras on a time lapse (that'll have to come in another post because I haven't put that together yet).


20220430-ILCE-7RM3-260-Stacked.jpg
The milky way lined up perfectly about the distant peaks

20220430-ILCE-7RM3-375-Edit.jpg
The actual view from the back of my car, but I didn't sleep with the door open because it got down to below freezing at night


Woke up for sunrise and froze my fingers off for theses photos.

CTG00102.jpg

CTG00068.jpg

CTG00126.jpg

20220430-Mavic Mini-002-2.jpg
I went to start up my drone only to find out my app was very out of date and I had to download a new app with very little service, but was finally able to get it going


It felt awesome to be able to make it up here and get the photos that I had envisioned, and I found a really cool spot that I'll surely be back in the summer and the fall.



Thanks for reading my post! Upvote, leave a comment, and follow me. Let's connect!

20201018-A7RIII-391-Edit.jpg

Social Links

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center