Duelling bull elk ... well almost ;) - Jasper, Alberta Canada

This past weekend we detoured up to visit Annette and Edith Lakes before we went up to see Maligne Lake and as we were heading back we came across the tail end of a bull elk duel near the entrance to Jasper Park Lodge.

This guy was the winner of the duel and quickly made his way over to the herd of cow elk.
IMG_0403.JPG

IMG_0406.JPG

This guy was the loser and he left the duel swimming across the Athabasca River towards where we were.
IMG_0411.jpg

This photo was my favourite of the bunch - he stood on the riverbank and posed for quite some time.
IMG_0432.jpg

I got several good photos but I sure wish I have seen them duel - others around us told us that they had sparred twice before the victor was determined.

All photos were taken by me on September 23, 2017 with either my iphone 6 or my Canon Powershot SX710 HS

Thanks for checking out my post. Upvotes, comments and resteems are always appreciated!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center