My Steemit Travel Vlog Begins Tomorrow - Gear Preparations for Italy and Croatia

Hey Steemians! I've been busy the past three days preparing for my trip to Europe; I'm sorry it's been a few days since my last update. A lot went into preparations for equipment and software, etc. I also have been shooting in between all the prepping. It's going to be a crazy next two weeks! But super stoked to make some video blogs just for Steemit!

In this post I go over gear and plans for the next three weeks

If you didn't already know I'm planning on Vlogging specifically for Steemit during my trip to Europe over the next couple of weeks. I wanted to give a quick update and let you know that I leave tomorrow and I also wanted to show you some of the gear I'm bringing along.

My first stop is Venice, Italy. I'm there for only three nights but I do have a shoot with TV/film personality Chiara. We are going to do some artsy photography one evening; I'll tell you more in a Vlog post :)

IMG_2713.PNG
Chiara from Venice, Italy

For those who didn't see my teaser intro for Steemit Croatia Calling

_Croatia Calling_ teaser video Short video explaining the gear and the Steemit Vlog

IMG_2702.JPG
3 Camera bodies: Canon 5D and Nikon D800 for video. Nikon FE 35mm film camera for some artsy stuff.

IMG_2701.JPG
Here's where the magic all comes together: my MacBook Air and Western Digital 2TB external hard drive. I also got a copy of Adobe Premiere installed so the editing will all take place on the Air...hopefully no hiccups; I'm testing out this editing rig for the first time right now. Update it appears Premiere and Youtube is working fine off the new drive and software!

IMG_2703.JPG
"Hey Mikey, which camera do you shoot with....Nikon or Canon?"
"BOTH!"

IMG_2705.JPG

Above Here's my new ThinkTank StreetWalker HardDrive that they graciously sent me when I emailed them about my project this summer. Video for Steemit!! I love their gear, an awesome company.

IMG_2704.JPG
The bag loaded and ready for travel. It took my a few hours to figure out a home for each piece of gear in the bag.

Here's a list for those gear heads:
ThinkTank StreetWalker HardDrive - camera bag
Canon lenses: 50mm 1.2, 135mm 2.0 (so sharp!), 16-35mm 2.8 (for video)
Nikon lenses: 50mm 1.4G, 24-70mm 2.8 (it's a tank but most versatile lens in my kit)
Rode shotgun mic for interviews
Nikon FE 35mm 1979 camera body
Film: Tri-X 400 and Ilford Delta 3200
Blackrapid camera strap - I like the skinny version
Yungnuo speedlight
Pocket Wizard Plus III triggers
Gordon Strap - my design
gaffer tape
Western Digital 2TB hard drive
compressed air for cleaning off gear
64GB Sandisk cards
5 in 1 reflector
Westcott Apollo 28" (not in photo)

IMG_2706.JPG
The side profile. Notice side pocket for laptop and photography reflector : )~

A lot of preparation went into making all of this happen. I'm using my Steem to pay for the gear and trip...it's a new social experiment for me. Hopefully this will be a success so I can do more trips like this and inspire others to do similar projects.

Also, if you know anyone in Croatia or Italy shoot me a comment, it's I'd love to meet some new people during my travels. Steemit Meetup in Croatia? I'll be there July 1-8 - Porec, Croatia

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center