Magic Monday - Cape Hillsborough

Back when we travelled through Australia in 2016, Cape Hillsborough beach was one of the coolest places we visited in Queensland. The main reason we went there was to see our first kangaroos and upon arriving at the caravan park it didn't take long for the first one to hop by.

The kangaroos that live there even like to spend some time at the beach in the morning, which I thought would be a great photo opportunity.

The only problem was, I didn't know where they would appear. So it was hard to plan for it. Instead I focused on finding a good composition that would also work without a kangaroo in it. I had some nice rocks, some tidal pools and magical light that morning.

What I didn't get was a kangaroo in the photo. As murphy's law requires they decided to explore the other end of the beach that morning and I knew until I would have gotten there, surely a kangaroo would have walked through this scene here.

Cape Hillsborough

So I stayed there and enjoyed the calm of the morning and the wonderful light. And even without a kangaroo in it, this photo has become one of my favorite photos from Australia. Had I started running around to chase other compositions that morning, trying to get a photo of a kangaroo, I'm sure I wouldn't have gotten such a result.


Michael Breitung Photography

!steemitworldmap -20.920633 lat 149.046243 long Cape Hillsborough D3SCR
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center