Unlocking History: My Fascinating Journey into the World of Antique Safes

safe-7a.jpgIMAGE Internal workings of a J&J Taylor bank safe 1880's

In the late 80s, I found myself at the helm of a flourishing jewellery manufacturing business in Winnipeg. It was a period filled with the sparkle of gems and the sheen of precious metals. But among the treasures of my trade, I stumbled upon something unexpected – a fascination with antique safes that would last a lifetime.

safe-8c.jpgIMAGE My work shop with a J&J Taylor bank safe and vintage Sargeant & Greenleaf from a Winnipeg Jeweller

My journey into the world of safes began somewhat inadvertently. I came across four abandoned safes from a storage company, left behind by owners who perhaps never realized the value or the stories these metal giants held within. These safes were large, cumbersome, and moving them was a costly affair. Yet, there was something about them – a whisper of history and a hint of mystery – that piqued my curiosity.

safe-9.jpg IMAGE prepping to move a 3 ton J&J Taylor bank safe

Fast forward a few years, my business had run its course, and I closed it down after eight rewarding years. Of the four safes, one – a large Yale safe – made its way to our family farm, a silent sentinel of my past entrepreneurial life.
safe.pngIMAGE Bank safe on the move

My interest in safes was rekindled unexpectedly when my business partner acquired an 1800s J.J. Taylor bank safe. This piece of history wasn't just a storage unit; it was a centerpiece for our Bitcoin meetups and his business. The aesthetics and intricate craftsmanship of the safe were mesmerizing. It sparked in me a deep appreciation for the art and engineering behind these ironclad guardians of treasures.

safe1ad.jpgIMAGE Acquiring another J&J Taylor safe

About a year after encountering the J.J. Taylor safe, I found its larger version on Kijiji. Making the purchase was the easy part. The real challenge lay in moving this 3-ton behemoth to our farm. Thankfully, a skilled tow truck driver made this daunting task possible, safely transporting the safe to its new home.
safe7.jpgIMAGE Another safe being moved to the farm

This acquisition was just the beginning. My fascination grew into an obsession. I dove into the inner workings of safes, their locks, and mechanisms. My collection expanded with the addition of an internal safe bought at an auction, intriguingly locked shut.
safe-99a.jpg IMAGE Internal workings of a J&J Taylor bank safe

IMG_3341.jpeg IMAGE These images are the first safe opened by my new safe cracker friend

IMG_3340.jpeg

IMG_3339.jpeg

Joining a safe enthusiast group on Facebook opened another chapter in my safe-collecting saga. Here, I met a gentleman, a city transit driver with a unique talent – he had a knack for opening safes through manipulation, no drilling required. We met at the farm a year later, and I watched, captivated, as he spent six hours meticulously working to unlock my auctioned safe.

safe3.jpgIMAGE The Amazing Rick Amazini after opening one of my mini safes

His story was as remarkable as his skill. In just one year, he had opened 60 safes setting a record for most safes open in one year, all through the art of manipulation. His expertise not only unlocked my safe but also opened doors to three more safes for my collection, all of which he had opened for their previous owners.

safe-00.jpgIMAGE Rick and I on site after he opened one of my finds.

Now, my collection has grown significantly, and my interest has shifted from smaller collectibles like watches and audio equipment to items with a weightier presence. These safes, each with its unique history and character, are more than just metal boxes. They are storytellers, holders of secrets from the past, and symbols of an era when craftsmanship and security were an art form.

safe-1.jpg IMAGE Internal key lock from my J&J Tailor 1800's bank vault

As I continue on this journey, acquiring more of these historical treasures, I find myself more enthralled with each safe's story. From a business venture in jewellery to a passion for antique safes, it's been an unexpected yet fulfilling transition, one that continually reminds me of the intricate beauty and fascinating history locked within these guardians of the past.
safe1as.jpg IMAGE J&J Taylor safe aquired from Canadian Pacific Railway

The history of the J.J. Taylor Safe Company

Also known as Toronto Safe Works, is a significant part of Toronto's industrial past. The company was established in 1855 by John and James Taylor, immigrants from England. Initially, their business, located at Palace Street in Toronto, began as a foundry making machine and large castings, materials for the building trade used as decorative and structural elements in buildings, boats, and safes​​​​.
safe-8a.jpgIMAGE Internal combination lock tumbler mechanism J&J Taylor

safe-8b.jpgIMAGE Internal combination lock tumbler mechanism J&J Taylor

J.J. Taylor Safe Company was renowned for manufacturing safes that were both fire and theft-proof, which gave them a near-monopoly in the safe-making business in Canada. Their safes were noted for being bulky and heavy, indicative of the robustness and security they offered​​. The Taylors were pioneers in the Canadian safe-making industry, being credited with making the first safes in Canada. The significance of their contribution to the industry is marked by Taylor Wharf in Old Town Toronto, named after John Taylor​​.

safe-1111.jpg

The company continued to manufacture safes until the late 1950s. Eventually, J.J. Taylor was purchased by Mosler, Inc., an American company, marking the end of an era for the original Canadian safe-making business. Following this acquisition, Mosler-Taylor was later bought by Chubb, a company looking to expand its reach into Canada​​.

safe-3.jpg

Throughout its history, J.J. Taylor Safe Company played a crucial role in the development and production of safes in Canada, leaving behind a legacy of innovation and quality in safe manufacturing.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now