Buko Sa Bukid :)

Hello Steemit Friends!

How are you doing on Steemit guys? Me, I'm still here, enjoying reading other blog posts... :D Anyway, I'm here again to post about "Buko" :) Do you know what Buko is? Of course you do! Duh, how can you not! ;) But for those who doesn't know yet, it's Young Coconut dude :)

IMG_0660.JPG

Yes, that's me in the photo. The little mountain girl :) Do you like my hat? :D

Okay, let me tell you about my little history about being a mountain girl. :)

When I was young, I liked climbing coconut trees. I think I was about 11 or 12 years old. I was a climber girl! I always wanted to climb any trees that have fruits to eat. I can climb the coconut tree until to the top! I can sit on the leaves of the top while getting the young coconut fruits, and just take it by my hands. I was like a monkey! :D My parents always scold me every time they found out that I climbed a tree again. But I never listen to them. When they scold me, later on, I will scold my youngest sister who told them about my climbing adventure. :D It was fun for me, not only about getting fruits but also I like heights. I'm not afraid of heights... My body was very light to climb trees that time, but now I can't do it anymore even just the little tree...

...

Young coconut is called buko in the Philippines. Its flesh is soft, thin and silky and you can easily scrape it off with a spoon. But for me, I like making coconut spoon. (the one in my hand) Just like the old days...hehe

I love the coconut juice. It's really good when it's hot season or summer. I like the flesh or meat with milk powder and sugar :) I know some people they like it with condensed milk or something more sweets but I don't like very sweet. Milk powder and sugar is always the best for me, just like the old days...hehe

( Hayyy nakakamiss na )

Screen Shot 2017-10-09 at 3.24.34 PM.png

Here are the top 8 Buko treats for Filipinos:

Buko Pie = coconut pie
– associated with Laguna province
– it’s simply a pastry pie filled with young coconut meat

Buko Juice = young coconut water
– best when drunk straight out of the coconut whose top has just been cut off
– scrape the soft coconut meat out with a spoon

Pansit Buko/ Pancit Buko
– noodle dish where the noodles are coconut strips instead of flour dough

Sweet Buko Salad
– soft coconut flesh made with condensed milk and cream
– combined with kaong, nata de coco and canned fruit cocktail

Buko Pandan
– a fruit salad that’s a mix of young coconut flesh and green gulaman flavored with pandanus leaves; made with cream, sugar and coconut milk

Buko Maruya
a maruya is traditionally a banana fritter, but young coconut may be substituted for the banana ingredient

Buko Samalamig
– a street drink that’s like a light shake with sago pearls

Ice buko
– a popsicle made from young coconut juice, soft coconut flesh and milk; crowned with brown mung beans or red beans

What else?

Source Link: Click here

Photos are mine

Screen Shot 2017-10-09 at 3.24.34 PM.png

… 'til next time!

~ Lence
From Philippines

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center