Coconut green vegetables curry/soup

Happy Thursday to everyone! I hope the week has been great to all of you. Mine so far has been quite eventful. I generally take my daughter to her playgroup on Wednesday morning. This week was no different. Except perhaps the action packed morning in my street. As I drove my car down the road I was surprised to see five unmarked police car surround one of the neighbours property. They then proceeded to block all strategic exits before some officers started jumping the fence and trying to force their way into the house.

I stayed around a little to try and find out what happened but didn’t get much from the police officers. Eventually in the evening I did find out on the news that the raid was linked to some investigation on some bikie gang. But honestly I couldn’t have known any of this. We’ve hardly ever seen the people leaving there and most importantly for a bikie related incident we’ve never seen a motorbike in or around that property!! Anyway I thought I would share some of this with you.

With winter approaching at a fast pace (it’s darker earlier now) this week has been kind of a soup week. After the coconut pumpkin soup on Monday we had a coconut with green vegetables curry/soup on Wednesday inspired by my favourite cook Donna Hay. The curry/soup was particularly delicious served with some homemade wholemeal roti bread. For this post I will explain how I made the coconut with green vegetables curry. However, for the homemade roti bread I’ve previously detailed the step by step process in my post titled Homemade: Chicken Curry with roti. The only thing changing here is plain flour being replaced with wholemeal flour.

For this dish I used the following ingredients:

  • 3 kaffir lime leaves shredded
  • 1 1/2 tbs grated ginger
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1/2 cup coriander leaves
  •  3 roughly chopped red chillies
  •  2 roughly chopped green onions
  •  1 tsp brown sugar
  •  1 tsp of grated lemon rind
  •  50g shredded coconut
  •  1/4 cup vegetable oil
  •  3 cups coconut water
  •  1/4 cup coconut milk
  •  200g Brussels sprouts, trimmed and halved
  •  2 medium size sliced zucchinis
  •  1 bunch broccolini (halved)
  •  Thai basil for serving


Method:

  1. In a food processor make the green curry paste by adding the kaffir lime leaves, ginger, garlic, coriander, chilli, sugar, and lemon rind. Run the food processor until all the ingredients turned into a rough paste.



  2. Place 1 tbs of the paste in a bowl with the shredded coconut. Place on the side to use as a garnish for later.


  3. Then add half of the oil with the remaining paste in the food processor and process under a smooth texture is formed.

  4. In a pan heat up the remaining oil. Add the paste and cook for a minute or so while continually stirring the mixture.

  5. Add the coconut water and coconut milk and bring the whole thing to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer until the mixture thickens up a little.



  6. First add in the Brussels sprouts and cook for 5 minutes. Don’t forget to cover the pan.


  7. Then add the zucchinis and broccolini and cook for further 5 minutes or until the vegetables are tender.

  8. When ready to serve pour the green curry in a bowl and garnish with the shredded coconut mixture and Thai basil leaves.

I choose to eat the soup with the homemade wholemeal roti bread.

I hope you enjoy it!

Bon appétit!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center