Welcome to my neighbourhood: Blå Rock

Back for the attack! Yes, it's been a while since I had the energy to focus on steeming. I'll try to change that. But it requires that I'm able to focus more wholeheartedly on the task of writing. It has not been the case for over a month now. But I'll try to push out some.

Today I wanted to show you Blå Rock Cafe, one of my local pubs. It's been around since 1991 and is a must if you ever should visit us here, north of everything. I even decided to shoot video for this one. Inspired by @jeffberwick also known as @dollarvigilante. With the main difference that I keep it short.

Let's go to Blå Rock!

I Remember when Blå Rock opened. I was a student at the time and the "new place" was real popular. So popular, one had to sit in the staircase sometimes. If you have ever been to a Hard Rock Cafe, it is very similar. But this variety has it's own style. More focused on underground garagerock and less on radiofriendly airguitars. At Blå Rock, Iggy Pop is king, Lemmy the pope and every decent, half-famous garage oriented band is treated like royalty. It's OK also for me who swear to the heavier sounds. But in small dosages, going to Blå Rock is like going home.

I know the guy who established the kitchen here. He is passionate about everything he does and certainly about food. Sadly after he quit things were not up to his standards. But I think things has changed for the better during the last couple of years.

I arrived early this sunday afternoon. Not much going on. A few bar flies, that was all. For me the choice is easy when it comes to the menu. I can't have enough of the garlic-sour cream that accompanies Motorhead. Yes, all the burgers are named after famous artists and bands.

IMG_1014.jpg

Yes, and the forefathers of this creation watches me across the room:

IMG_1016.jpg

The beer on the other hand was a more difficult choice. Our local brewery has a huge presence here. It's called Mack. And i chose one of their craft varieties. Saison was recommended to me by the barmaid, I even got to taste it before I settled with this for me new taste sensation. Light, flowery and with a huge head.

IMG_1015.jpg

Dinner!

Since I was almost alone, it didn't take much more than 10 min before my burger arrived. Oh yeah! That garlic sour cream is the shit! And yes, it is a over all good quality meal.

IMG_1027.JPG

IMG_1028.JPG

I should do this more often. And yes, it keeps up with my expectation.

The pub

Blå Rock is a very special building. It is several floors tall and decorated by Rock'n Roll memorabilia all over. If you get tired of the view one place, you just move. I like it. One can hide away in a corner or hang out on a central spot. So I took some more stills.

The dance floor decoration

Untitled_Panorama1.jpg

4. floor

IMG_1022.JPG

3. floor

IMG_1029.JPG

2. floor bar

IMG_1026.JPG

Post script

So now you know where to go for burgers and beer when you're around. I live two blocks away ;-)

And yes, I'll try to steem more.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now