10 days without meat or fish! Analyzing my "Almost vegan" Steemit experiment!

Hi all!

It´s been a bit quiet from me the last days. Life´s super busy and I just havent had the time to sit down.

But now I do and it´s time to share some thoughts on my "Almost vegan" experiment.

First off all, I must say thank you to all of you that shared your thoughts and experience with me and that encouraged me.
I truly appreciate it.

One of the main points to this experiment was:

Will the Steemit community be able to help me, a more or less complete stranger to most of you, to accomplish my goals??

To that I must say a definite YES!
The very fact that you actually bothered commenting and sharing actually gave me motivation and helped me reach my goals and stick to my plan.

WELL DONE STEEMIT COMMUNITY! :)

So, did I manage to stay away from meat and fish since the experiment started?

YES I DID!!!

And right now that feels kind of AWESOME!
This is the first time in my life I´ve been completely without meat or fish over several days and it feels really good.

As I said in the first post I wasnt going to go 100% vegan but would try to do mostly plant based.
I´ve mostly done that for the past 10 days, though with a bit of cheese and an egg.
As for the weeks and months to come I believe for me the best way forward is to go VEGETARIAN.
With the very busy life I lead at the moment and also having to plan food for a family of 5 I basically feel the transition over to VEGAN is a bit too big for me/us right now.

However I´ll still lean in the vegan direction and try to do mostly plant based. Who knows, maybe after some time taking the step all the way doesnt feel so big.

SO, WHAT ABOUT MEAT AND FISH? WILL YOU NEVER EAT THAT AGAIN??

Well, I have given this a lot of thought over the last 10 days.
Going into extremes and being super strict rarely works for me. That´s just me. MODERATION is something I wish to strive for though. That might mean being extreme for a while, but for me to not go totally MEATLOVER again I think I will over time need to and want to have a moderate and modest intake of meat and fish.

In the cases that I do choose to eat meat though, I will strive to eat meat and fish that is not a part of the crazy industry.

I might for example eat some self caught trout. Or some bacon from a free-range organic local farm.

Also, in some cases I will eat what is offered to me when I´m invited somewhere and there is not a good vegetarian/vegan alternative.

I my opinion right now, this is the best way for me going forward to reach my goal of eating MOSTLY plant based and as little as possible animal based.

All right!
That´s it for my little Steemit experiment.
Thank you so much for following and I will probably do a post about this every now and then!
So check in!

Peace, Peter

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center