11. Throwback: New Zealand 2014

summer_dreams_tropical: Throwback: 2014: I got to know Rebecca who is one of my dearest friends now. I met her travelling through New Zealand. Or rather: My travel journey started with her. I have just flicked through my old photos to get some inspiration and then so many memories came back. Moreover, I was reminded of that feeling I had during this phase of my life. I learned so much, had insights in so many various lifestyles due to our different host families, hiked through nature that I have never seen before and enjoyed the journey with Rebecca. Here I want to share an excerpt of that journey: From the first moment Rebecca and me have clicked very well. It all started when we could talk about our lives effortlessly during our first car ride together. We met through a Website called HelpX which is made for finding host families for which you can work. Most of the times this means helping them with their household, child(ren) and garden. In return you usually get free accommodation, food and the experience how locals live. It is similar to wwoofing but the difference is that it does not necessarily mean farm work. You can also find travel companions on that platform. Rebecca and me started our journey in Auckland where we met to share a car ride. At this stage we did not know how long we would travel together, yet. When we didn't stay with host families or in hostels, we slept in our tent on campgrounds.

Our first destination was Rotorua from where we did an 8 hour hiking trip through “Mordor” (it was indeed a “Lord of the rings” movie location). We have also seen the beautiful emerald lakes during this trip. Later we visited another movie location: Hobbiton (near Matamata). This was nice but very “touristy”. We have travelled further south to Taupo where we did Skydiving looking at the beautiful lake Taupo. We have been to the magical Waitomo glowworm caves. Then we went to New Plymouth where we worked for a family with a former professional Rugby player. This family had two gorgeous kids, three nice dogs and a lovely
& cool grandma. In New Plymouth we had excellent coffee and visited the beautiful festival of lights. We have met two great hippie families near Wellington who also had lovely children and an interesting lifestyle. Wellington was an interesting city, too. Hiking there, including the upper and lower huts, was beautiful but also hilly. We have also had a ride in the cable car which was not as spectacular as we thought. On the other hand the (free) museum Te Papa Tongarewa was absolutely amazing: educational and exciting. In Wellington we have also seen a bit of the night life. We used the ferry (with the car) to get to the South Island where we worked in a hostel in Picton. From there we had a long hiking trip on the Queen Charlotte track on a wonderful sunny day. After this stop, our next destination was Christchurch, in one of its suburb we worked on a vineyard and in a hotel. Christchurch was a very fascinating city to me, too. I just felt so sorry for all the deaths and damage which was caused by a terrible earthquake before.

After a short, intended separation during which I hiked in Arthur’s Pass, saw amazing Kia birds and visited Abel Tasman and its golden beaches, Rebecca and me were on a helicopter flight seeing the Fox and Franz Josef Glacier. The Camping site where we stayed was outstanding (at a beach with a great view on the stars). We further had a cool road trip to Queenstown. Kayaking on the central lake in Queenstown was great and so was our day trip to the fjords of the Milford Sounds. We have also participated in a “pub crawl” (in Queenstown) on which we have been to the “ice bar” where everything is out of ice.

All in all, there are probably (almost) all possible landscapes in New Zealand including beaches, glaciers, fjords etc etc.
I am so glad that I got to know Rebecca who became a good friend although we don't see each other much because we have both our own busy lives in Germany. Nevertheless, I have these precious memories of all these amazing experiences that we had and how privileged we are to be able to have these. This travelling was a very great phase of my life. Interestingly, unlike many other stages this experience had a fixed beginning and end. Knowing that everything has an end in this life (including life) is important so that one enjoys what one has. Nothing can be taken for granted. And I feel blessed that I have reached the next great chapter in my life now: my own family with my lovely husband and my lovely son. It is even more special due to the fact that I was so unsure if that would ever happen for me. Reflecting now after I got it, everything seems to be fine (and everything is good), but I still remember how often I felt lost and not belonging anywhere. I feel for anyone who is currently still in that same position and I hope that they will find their way. My only spontaneous advice would be: just keep on going. You never see beforehand what will be happening to you but eventually something will happen and THEN all the sorrows and worries from before will seem ridiculous. I am really happy my “disorientation/lost phase” is over and now I can focus and enjoy my new life with my family.

#travel #NewZealand #kiwi #kiaora #Auckland #Roturua #Taupo #NewPlymouth #Wellington #Picton #Christchurch #Foxglacier #Franzjosefglacier #Queenstown #Waitomo #fjord #Milfordsounds #Abeltasman #journey #blueandgreen #nofilter #roadtrip #camping #pancakerocks #Greymouth #Newbrighton #friendship #grateful #past #sun
#Kaikoura #nature #beach #blueandgreen #sun #friendship #explore #universe #camping #freedom #sun #strength

#orientation #findyourbalance #findyourpurpose #findyourpassion #family #journey #life #love #timeisprecious #blessed🙏 #hope #memories #paradise

IMG_1998.jpg
DSC_0028.jpg
DSC_0032.jpg
DSC_0071.jpg
DSC_0096.jpg
DSC_0105.jpg
DSC_0275.jpg
DSC_0089.jpg
DSC_0100.jpg
DSC_0670.jpg
DSC_1275.jpg
DSC_1132.jpg
DSC_1104.jpg
DSC_1556.jpg
DSC_2131.jpg
DSC_2038.jpg
DSC_1767.jpg
DSC_1877.jpg
DSC_2265.jpg
DSC_2183.jpg
DSC_2325.jpg
DSC_2515.jpg
DSC_2715.jpg
DSC_2725.jpg
DSC_2824.jpg
DSC_2840.jpg

Song:
Josef Salvat - Till I Found You!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center