Pigeons caught in drug smuggling ring

Do you feel as though the "war on drugs" is a war that cannot be won? I know that I certainly feel that way. All of my life most drugs have been illegal and this had very little impact on whether or not you could get any of them. I haven't used a lot of drugs in my life but I know people that have and they never really experienced much difficulty in getting a hold of them. Outside of really special isolated countries in the world like Singapore and South Korea, drugs of any sort are available to anyone that is looking to get them.

In a recent story that I randomly ran across is a good example about how it is that this "war" is something that can never be won because there is just too much money in it and the smugglers are always going to find new ways to thwart customs and border patrols. This one is particularly funny because the culprits are innocent birds that are just trying to get home.



src
After a very thorough "good cop / bad cop" investigation, he was set free on bail

While this is something that has been used for a while, authorities suspect that it is being used in greater numbers recently as these small backpacks can hold up to 30 grams of cocaine or other drugs and this has a street value of around $3000. I can see how this could end up being very lucrative and although I know very little about training pigeons, Mike Tyson was able to do it, so it can't be that difficult


image.png
src

I can't really imagine any way that authorities could possibly prevent this sort of smuggling from happening unless they got tipped off by someone. What are they going to do? Shoot every bird that is flying over from a suspected border? Will they follow every single avian variety animal that is in an area?

Although I am not a user of drugs for the most part, I can still appreciate this sort of ingenuity on the part of the smugglers. I am reminded of the scene in Hangover part 2 where Chow says "ever see monkey go to jail?"

It's actually quite brilliant.


great-story.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now