An Introduction to Scars and Stripes

Helping others find their way through personal life experience...

Hello everyone, I'm Jason Nieves and I thank you for taking the time to read my introduction to learn about who I am and what this blog will be about. First off I will say that I am 35(almost 36) year old, ten year veteran of the US Army. I've been deployed to combat, I've been married and divorced, I've had the world and I've lost it all too... There is a quiet mantra about the psychological effects of creating a killer that then must adjust to "normal" society once that man or woman's war fighting is over. That is what this blog and all my posts will be about. The adjustment that goes well for some and not so well for others. Through this series of personal stories I will be posting I will get into detail about the decisions that caused a decorated , married Green Beret to become a homeless, divorced and depressed man that felt lost and frightened of the future instead of looking forward to it.

In my posts I will be sharing intimate details of my life and lifestyle to show how simple decisions made in one's life can have both amazing and horrible consequences. I know however that I am not alone in my struggle to find myself and become the man I should have been all along. I hope to share life experiences that many of you have endured yourselves and to discuss my triumphs and failures that got me to where I am today. This blog will cater mostly to the experiences endured my veterans and their families but it is not meant to help just them. Many of you may find solace in my honesty and openheartedness in discussing problems that face not only those that served in the armed forces but all of us that have lived an "adventurous" life with both victories and regrets. I will also be sharing the experiences of others in their trying times as a means of rehabilitation and closure for them as well as learning and insight for you.

There are extreme difficulties that are endured mentally and emotionally when one suffers from depression, especially when there seems to be no light at the end of the tunnel. Problems endured and how they are either positively or negatively dealt with will be the focus of my discussions and posts using mostly myself as the example and diving into facts as well as healthy means of healing and support. I am not alone. You are not alone... Together we can raise awareness and help those in need. there were many times in my life that no matter how much I searched i could not find the right support channel. With your assistance I think I can help both myself and others through revealing and finding closure from my past in order to learn and not make the same mistakes in the future. With your support we can make a difference in the most desperate of times for those that need it. I ask for your help and support to me grow this to something bigger than me or any of us as individuals. We can create an organization, a place where men and women can feel comfortable in sharing their own stories in order to move forward positively and without burden of past difficulties. Will you help me make a difference?

Thank you,
Jason Nieves, De Oppresso Liber

Why I chose Steemit.

I chose Steemit because I believe it to be an amazing opportunity and forum to help something incredible come to life. I believe this to be the best option available for blogging and getting information out to those that need and want it. I believe my voice and those of others can be heard best through Steemit. In advance I want to thank Steemit for the opportunity to possibly help myself and others through this forum and bring this information to an international community. I believe we can make a difference.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center