NeedleWorkMonday: What I've Made #12

Socks! I love this pair of socks that I made for myself back when I was in Nepal. They just felt so happy and springy when we were getting lots of rain and it was still pretty cold.

20170322_123803.png

As with most of the items that I had making around that time, this is another unknown yarn that I picked up in a tiny alcove store in one of the markets.

20170317_164742.png
20170317_172652.png

I used some leftover mint yarn from the stripy socks that I had made for the cuffs, heels, and toes, and then used this unknown yarn that turned out to be self striping with speckles. For my needles I used my size US 3 double pointed needles that I had picked up in Athens back in February. (I kind of love double pointed needles!)

20170317_211001.png

As you can see in the photographs, I didn't use any pattern for these socks, but just went with something basic off the top of my head. A ribbed cuff, and plain vanilla stockinette legs and foot because I wanted to be sure that the patterning of the yarn would be shown off. I absolutely love how they turned out!

NOTE: One tiny tip. In the last photograph you can see the bandage on my finger. I did this because when I knit voraciously I tend to wear a spot on my finger where the needles rubs, and this can eventually become very irritated or bleed. I've learned over the years to just put a bandage on that area as soon as it becomes uncomfortable and I can keep on working without any further issues! :) It's like a thimble for knitting.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now