Escondido's Elfin Forest

IMG_6033.JPG

An Elfin Forest is a term for a particular grove of dwarf trees and shrubs. Escondido's chaparral Elfin Forest may also be attributed to the children of Dr. Harvey Urban DDS who's children had recently read a book of the same name (wikipedia)

IMG_6006.JPG

My first trip to the forest


I only explored the most easily accessed paths of the forest as I made the trip with my wife Cherie, and our son William. Because William mostly rode in his stroller, we couldn't explore on the other side of the creek more than a few yards.

IMG_6013.JPG

The trail runs along the creek


In the shade of the live oaks and chaparral growth there are sections with artistic and educational displays such as the Oak Idyll, for which another community "Idyllwild" is named.

IMG_6008.JPG

These "totems" represent the local wildlife ...

IMG_6009.JPG

Along the path are many places to access pools in the stream


IMG_6030.JPG

On hot days it may be very tempting to wade and splash in the pools. While there are no rules specifically prohibiting the practice, there are signs that warn that urban runoff and other contaminates may make you sick, so swimming is not advised.

IMG_6032.JPG


DQmSATX3k1zuK9N1EVBS58w4h6m19NeyceAb5ccsyQHaGJD_1680x8400.png
As always, I Steem for my kids...
comment.pngupvote.png

Picture of me by Cherie, other images by me, Elfin Forest, Escondido, California

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center