Beauties of the Tenerife Island: endless banana plantations everywhere you look

Hi there my Steemit friends and followers!

Today´s theme for the #smartphonephotography contest hosted by @juliank is "leaves" which sounds like the perfect opportunity to share some of my favorite photos from Tenerife with you. I have already dedicated several posts to the beautiful Canarian island of Tenerife, showing you the beauty of local picturesque towns, majestic mountains and stunning black-sand beaches. However, there is another thing so typical of this extraordinary piece of land - banana plantations!

IMG_20160925_190707_781.jpg

That is right, Tenerife and the whole Canarian archipelago is one of the world´s largest producers of bananas and you can stumble on a plantation like this one literally everywhere.

IMG_20160205_133011.jpg

The bunches of bananas are so massive and heavy that the plants actually have to be supported by these special metal rods.

IMG_20160205_161436.jpg

The cool thing about Canarian bananas is that you can pick them completely green...

IMG_20161016_155340.jpg

...leave them to ripen at home...

IMG_20161026_150143.jpg

...and they will turn perfectly yellow, sweet and delicious in a few days :)

IMG_20161023_154819.jpg

Buen provecho! :)


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, make sure to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about.
If you enjoy my content, feel free to upvote and resteem :) I don’t always follow back but I upvote original and interesting comments on my posts. Have a wonderful day and Steem on!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center