Greater Yellowlegs!

Watch this video I got of a Greater Yellowleg! There is also a Lesser Yellowlegs. The main difference is that the greater is bigger and it's bill is longer. It is sometimes hard to tell them apart unless they are together. You can find these birds just about anywhere in North America. They eat mainly small fish, seeds, frogs and berries when they can get them. You can see these birds at The Celery Fields in Sarasota, Florida mainly during the spring migration.

You can see in this picture that I took, the bill is long.

And this one is shorter - the Lesser Yellowlegs.

100% my original work! Except where noted. Copyright 2018 ® Mark Vance Photography

I am an award winning photographer and filmmaker. Many of my pictures have been used in TV Shows and Feature Films, such as "Zero Dark Thirty", "NCIS Los Angeles" and "The Walking Dead".
Many of my bird pictures and videos have been used by The National Audubon Society and Sarasota Audubon and used on several TV shows, like "Animal Outtakes" on ABC. Enjoy!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center