Artistry and elegance in African nature

Hello Steemians, let's play a guessing game today. What is this?

Symmetric pattern in nature

Something from the bottom of the sea? An army of triffids?

I'm in Lusaka this week and had this view from my hotel room balcony. We're well into the rainy season and Lusaka is looking lush. I don't know what those trees below are, but they are incredibly beautiful with their long stalks of flowers (are those flowers?) and their symmetric leaf mops.

Trees in Lusaka

Here's a closer look.

Flowering trees in Lusaka

I took those photos on my phone and hoped the zoom would give me a result which was reasonably in focus. Success! It was only when I looked at the photos on my computer that I realised there was a little fellow enjoying himself on the treetop. Here's a slightly better view of the bird - it might be a bulbul but I really can't tell. But the bird got me thinking...normally we humans wouldn't see the tops of those trees because we'd be walking underneath them. That delightful symmetry would possibly appeal to species which spend time above the trees, not below them. What a privilege to be above that canopy and witness the elegance and artistry of evolutionary design.

Bird on treetop

Does anyone know what these trees are?

A bit of whimsy

And bonus photo for those who read through to the end - a Lusaka snail seen on my way back from gym, in the same place I saw it as I was going to gym. Why a snail pic? Just because I enjoyed yesterday's Google Doodle which featured the Tortoise and the Hare at the Winter Olympics.

Snail in Lusaka


signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now