Hive Philippines Travel and Nature Photography #422 - by Allmonitors

#422 - Spelunking deep underground.

It has been a while since I shared some photos as continuation of our cave to cave adventure when we went to Sagada a few years back. Allow me to share some photos of that adventure once again and I will start with this one where we have already passed midway of the cave system connecting Lumiang cave going to Sumaguing cave. The entrance cave we have been through is the burial site also of the early people of this remote town. There were coffins hanging on the wall of the cave which we have see when we went down the cave. I have also previously shared some photos of those coffins here wayback and I think I have shared all of it already, nothing left to add here.

Anyways, the path going to our exit cave which is Sumaguing is challenging, there were narrow passages and slippery paths that we have to pass. Another thing is also the river system underground which was about four feet deep and luckily it didn't go deeper because there was no rain that day. Our guide said if it rains, there is a chance the underground river can get flooded and the river water may rise up which is also dangerous. So we have already passed by that river where it was deep as you can see in my shirt that it was wet up to my chest. This small stream here still has a chilling water temperature but also a good spot to take pictures. Thanks to our guide for taking this shot.😉

P1130170.jpg

Here is another dangerous part in the cave, we can see the crystal clear water which looks like being divided too because of the stone formations under the water. Beyond that stone is a long cliff which is too dark to see as well. A long fall going down definitely.
P1130212.jpg

Another shot taken by our guide and this time I made a different hand sign, the Peace sign.😁
P1130171.jpg

We rested here at this part of the cave for s couple of minutes and then I also took the opportunity to take shots oof my wife while she models in the frames.
P1130162.jpg

Our guide brought a huge lamp which is a classic one used back in the days and still being used up to this time because of its reliability.
P1130164.jpg

P1130166.jpg

The cave also has these small stones or like gravels in the river. The smell of bat dung is somehow observable already from this point because just a few more meters there is a part of the cave which became a bat sanctuary.
P1130167.jpg

My wife posing beside these huge rocks inside the cave. I will share more in the coming days. Thanks for stopping by.
P1130161.jpg

Follow me on my nature travels.
Shot taken in Sagada, Philippines.

Image/s were shot using Panasonic Lumix ZS110. ~rex

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center