Missing Ninja Chronicles: The Prologue

Assalamualaikum and hi!

I don't do self-introduction on regular occasions but since I was asked by @fionasfavourites and @lovesniper, so here's one anyway.

Who Am I?

I'm a 25-year-old Muslim from a rural city Keningau, located in Sabah, Malaysia 🇲🇾. Due to privacy reasons, I never use my real name on the internet.

Instead, I go by the name Missing Nins, which in short for Missing Ninja - referring to a rogue ninja that fled away from his homeland ninja village.

img_0.06521133898296047.jpg

img_0.7472479924052727.jpg

My Hobbies

At this point, you might already figured out that my handle (or screen name) was actually inspired from the popular anime series Naruto.

Naruto and Naruto Shippūden had left a big impression in my life, especially in terms of life philosophy. One of my favourite quotes from the series is:

Sometimes you must hurt in order to know, fall in order to grow, lose in order to grow because life's greatest struggle is through the pain.
Nagato (aka Pain)

Since then, I was hooked up with other anime series such as Detective Conan, Cells at Work!, BEASTAR, and more of others that I'm planning to watch on.

Other than watching anime/animations, I also enjoy playing chess and other strategy-based board games as well, such as Pandemic, CATAN, 7 Wonders, and Splendor.

img_0.7472479924052727.jpg

My Journey in Chess

I started learning chess from my elder brother pretty late unlike most professional players did like Magnus Carlsen and Wesley So. My brother taught me chess when I was 12 years old and two years after, I started representing my school and later my faculty and campus in numerous tournaments.

I rarely participate in chess tournaments as an individual though as most open tournaments were held very far from my place. Plus, I couldn't afford to pay the entrance fee as well as other costs such as transportation and overnight stay.

![img_0.4592281750176323.jpg](https://images.ecency.com/DQmUe76RXHPEKttRmudDUVZPnt2MEeLo8LhTDVzTbUNA6q8/img_0.4592281750176323.jpg)
Me (second from left) with my teammates and team manager in inter-branch chess tournament, KARiSMA 2019

My biggest achievement in chess so far was dated back to 2013, when I represented my school (and eventually my state) to the national level. In that tournament, I'd successfully achieved 7th place in Male Under 18 category.

Then, I went on a hiatus to focus on SPM (a compulsory standardised exam for highschool students before they can pursue further tertiary education) on the same year.

I rarely played and trained for chess during the hiatus period and I realized my analytical skills were getting dull after my disappointing performance in KARiSMA 2019.

img_0.4592281750176323.jpg
Representing my branch campus in KARiSMA 2019

My passion for chess only came back after watching Netflix's Queen's Gambit series in late 2020 and since then I played chess more than usual, ending the hiatus period. Later in early 2021, I earned 10th place in Pahang International Open tournament for amateur category (players with < 1800 ELO rating). The tournament was conducted online due to travel restrictions which is due to the current coronavirus pandemic.

If you're wondering what are my favourite chess openings, here are some:

As WhiteAs Black
King's GambitKing's Gambit - Falkbeer's Countergambit
Three Knights GameTwo Knights Defense
Sicilian Defense - Grand Prix VariationSicilian Defense

img_0.7472479924052727.jpg

What Would I Write on HIVE?

Most new users probably could not figure out what they are going to write on this media platform and how they are going to stay in that direction.

I'm NOT someone with a lot of experience in writing, but if you're looking for tips, here's one:

Treat this like a diary and just write anything you like.

You can write about your love/dating experience, job interviews, funny events, summary of a book that you read or a movie that you watched,etc.

Just write anything! You might momentarily figure, "Who would read this anyway?" but you'll never know until you try!

As for me, I would focus on writing poems and pick up the short stories that I left unfinished on Wattpad and Blogger. I haven't writing for so long and hopefully with the handsome rewards from this platform, I can get motivated to keep going with my writings.

I also used to share mostly about what I've read from books or something that I'm curious about and discussed it with my friends. Hopefully I'm welcomed to do that as well in here.

img_0.7472479924052727.jpg

Last Couple Words

I hope my writings can be useful and/or engaging to the community here. I am also hoping that I could connect with other aspiring writers on the other side of the globe and be able to make new friends here - exchanging thoughts, ideas, and personal views.

Last but not least, thank you to @thepeakstudio for sharing attractive text dividers for free use by the community.

P/s: I still don't have any international friends sadly :(


About Author

img_0.8130001571111931.jpg
He used to dream to be a ninja, yet he failed miserably. Depressed and unemployed, he now turns to blogging to earn some pocket money.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency