🌺My Favourite Things VI: Asian Antiques Edition 🌺

cover file.jpg

Today's Edition of #myfavouritethings features some of the amazing "new to us" Asian antiques my store has just purchased in the last few months. There is something very whimsical and unique about the pieces and I thought them perfect to feature for this weeks #myfavouritethings


First up is the pair of red, hand painted Chinese bedside cabinets. I think these might be a reproduction, they are definitely not actual Chinese antiques, but they are sooo pretty that we couldn't resist when we saw them on sale at one of our secret sources.

WhatsApp Image 2018-02-15 at 16.42.24.jpeg

All the detail is hand painted in an almost inlay style. The cabinets are well made, with no makers mark, so I am having a hard time trying to figure out when and where they were made. I'm thinking that they were made somewhere in Europe, France or even the UK, perhaps in the 30's (they are too well-made to be a Chinese or Indonesian reproduction).

WhatsApp Image 2018-02-15 at 16.42.23.jpeg

The brass locking mechanisms and handles are also very unique, possibly handmade, which again tells me they could be rather old. The only thing that is niggling me at the back of my head is that fact that, in the early 90's and 00's, the world went through a huge Asian obsession. Anyone you know who is now 35 - 50 very well may have a weird tribal or dragon tattoo.

You know .... these?

Screen Shot 2018-02-16 at 07.35.22.png

So this is a thought that is at the back of my mind, making me think that they are possible 00's reproductions, still out of Europe or the UK though. Hhhhmmm. I have these internal dialogues all day long!

The next item I would like to show you is a very heavily carved antique Indonesian cabinet. We have two, almost identical, a near pair, which I bought on an estate sale.

WhatsApp Image 2018-02-15 at 14.41.45 (1).jpeg

The detail is amazing, and while they are in quite good nick, there are some chips and scratches, and even a piece missing on the one. I don't ever try to fix these imperfections, as I feel this takes away from the vintage of a piece. Of course, if the person buying it asks me too, I will send it to the workshop to be repaired.

WhatsApp Image 2018-02-15 at 14.41.43.jpegWhatsApp Image 2018-02-15 at 14.41.43 (1).jpeg

I love the asian men coming out of the carving in their little kimonos. Really special. As I said, these were bought on an estate sale. This makes me wonder, how many beautiful pieces of furniture, lighting and jewelry there are hidden in the possession of the older generation of the world? Like in the Titanic when they are looking for Rose's "Heart of the Ocean" necklace, but she has kept it that entire time.

The following piece is something I have never seen before. Bought on the same estate sale as the Indonesian cabinet, this Indian cabinet is also hand-painted and full of detail. I wonder what it was originally used for? I'm thinking perhaps for medicines, or perfumes. Maybe even spices, but I think I am a bit far off with that assumption!

25074993_1588884844524611_4734369923318892211_o.jpg

Many times, my clients ask me, "But what is it?" and I always just tell them that it is whatever they want it to be, as I think this is what makes each piece special. The reuse of a special piece, interpreted for one's own needs. I, of course, make suggestions, as this could help the sale along, but I am never pushy, especially when a client has a specific use in mind. I am actually often surprised at the creative purposes that some of my pieces serve.

WhatsApp Image 2018-02-15 at 14.41.41.jpeg

The detail on the cabinet is quite stunning, and each little drawer and door closes and opens perfectly. I really love this piece, and will be interested to see what it is purchased to be used as

WhatsApp Image 2018-02-15 at 14.41.42 (1).jpeg

Thank you for reading along as I explain this weeks #myfavouritethings! I'd love to know your thoughts on these beautiful pieces - what would you use them for?

Ciao for now, Steemians! 🌺

footer.jpg

Please consider voting for @adsactly-witness as a witness. To read what we are all about - click here

adsaxtly-witness.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now