Steemit Top 50: Some of my all time top favourites

@verhp11 has challenged me on yet another music theme. I thought he did it to find the top 50 songs of this year, but I have to be honest and say I don't listen to a huge amount of current music, so covering all time works better for me. My choices may tend to be more obscure, so it's possible nobody else will choose some of these, but I'm always up for sharing cool music.

Top 50

I'm going to us my last.fm chart that logs what I've been listening to on my PC and phone for over 14 years! I won't just take the top songs from that as I listen to albums, so there may be many connected songs grouped in there. Not sure why it says 26k tracks as the total is over 88k. I'm really using this chart to remind me of what I have enjoyed.

last.fm

So here's a top 10. My choices might be different another day and the order is impossible to say really.

10 King Crimson - Frame by Frame
9 Foo Fighters - Everlong
8 Pink Floyd - Echoes
7 David Bowie - Life on Mars
6 Queens of the Stone Age - The Lost Art of Keeping a Secret

5 Porcupine Tree - Time Flies

This song has some echoes (!) of Pink Floyd, but I love it. Steven Wilson is a similar age to me, so has similar points of reference and he expresses it so well. This is a shorter version of the song.

4 Frost* - Hyperventilate

This is a band I got to know about a few years ago and have since seen live twice. I was looking for something from their own channel and found this version recorded in Jem's own studio.

3 Björk - Hunter

Much as I love guitar rock and prog I also have a certain thing for certain female singers and Björk owns a piece of my heart. I've also seen her live twice. This reminds me of Bolero with its driving beat.

2 Living Colour - Love Rears Its Ugly Head

Let's just say this has special meaning for my other half and I. Yet another band I've seen live twice, but that was long ago.

1 Led Zepellin - Dazed and Confused

Just awesome!

This probably doesn't help much in compiling the chart, but I like what I like :)

I nominate:

The rules:

  • Challenge at least three persons to participate
  • Use the tag #steemithitslist
  • Select a minimum of 10 and a maximum of 30 songs in your top list
  • The Steemit list will be constructed out of the songs that are posted with the hashtag.
  • Put a link to your own post in the comments of this post
  • The final list, with playlist, will be posted on 31 december.

Rock on!

I'm Steve, the geeky guitarist.

Spam comments may be flagged. Beware of the Commentphant!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center