I'll pour one out for the soon-to-close Google+...by scrobbling these tunes any hour from now.

A few of them made the rounds in my 2012 Marigot Magic experiment, the precursor to what would become Unspooled; the rest are held in the collection of Adanson, an event facility/nature reserve in the northeastern Commonwealth of Dominica village of Marigot. (Details in new posts, and reruns, of this feed's Marigot Notebook feature.) In listening order:

  • "Girl I'm Gonna Miss You", Milli Vanilli, 1989 (and if you're a Nature Island stalwart, bonus points if you heard that on DBS yesterday afternoon)
  • "Theme from Mahogany (Do You Know Where You're Going To)", Diana Ross, 1975
  • "Don't Let the Sun Go Down on Me", Roger Daltrey, 1987 (covering Elton John; from The Lost Boys soundtrack)
  • "Love Hurts", Nazareth, 1974 (cover of the Everly Brothers)
  • "My Love, My Life", ABBA, 1976
  • "End of the Line", Traveling Wilburys, 1988
  • "Empty Garden (Hey Hey Johnny)", Elton John, 1982 (originally an ode to the murder of Lennon)
  • "Who Wants to Live Forever", Queen, 1986 (from Highlander's de facto soundtrack, A Kind of Magic)
  • "Nothing Compares 2 U", Sinéad O'Connor, 1990
  • "Où s'en vont les cœurs brisés", Dorothée, 1988

These represent a break away from the scrobbles representing Adanson's charity-concert setlist/test-party playlists of late; the latter will return anytime in early or late March. This G+ refugee encourages you to listen along as well; drop by at last.fm/user/Routhwick if you've got time.

Which reminds me (as Day 3 of my Steem tenure comes to an end): Any Steemians out there who scrobble? Or are there any more ex-Plussers I haven't idenified yet (apart from Steve Clark, @steevc, whom I'll follow right after posting this)? If you are or know, then please drop me a line in the comments.

Till we meet again, it's off to resteem territory. (May as well also search around for a music collective worth my while.) Take care, stay connected...and God bless.

From the one, the only, the all-new...

#WhatLiesAground

CC0 Kopimi
(2434)
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now