Meditation on the Foul (new piece of music)

Hey everyone. I'm quite eager to share this one. This is the first piece of sound/music I've completed and publicly shared in about two and a half years . . . that is, since I've gotten sober. In that time, I've put a lot of effort and work into my personal growth and changing a lot of things about my life, and I took time off from recording music, even to the point of reassessing whether I wanted to make music and what my motivations for making music were. I think all of that thought and self-improvement shows in this piece, especially when compared with my older work (which isn't on my soundcloud, but is on my bandcamp). This is my favorite piece I've ever recorded. I think it's the best solo work I've ever done, and it's the first time I'm legitimately proud of my solo work without doubting and wondering if it's only my personal bias. Of course, I'm sure I like it because it's my work, yes, but I have been able to identify some objectively good things about it, which I have never really, wholeheartedly managed to do with previous work.

That being said, I know this kind of sound/noise/music ain't for everybody, and I don't think I've hit my high point yet. I can still do better. But this, in my opinion, is the best I've done yet, and it was a huge relief to me to make something like this. At any rate . . . like I said about the Feral Child record . . . it's a strange one. So if you like strange music, please enjoy. If not . . . well, give it a shot anyway. You might be surprised.

jl.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now