It's electrifying!

The UK government want most new cars to be electric by 2030. Does that seem realistic? At the moment they are just a percent or two, but I see more all the time. The Nissan Leaf seems to be the most common, but I see a few Teslas around. The main sticking points are range and price, but there are improvements ongoing for both of those. A usable range of 200 miles will meet the needs of most people. I know there are exceptions, but they are fairly rare. This video talks about these issues and gives an optimistic forecast of electric adoption. We're about to see a lot more choice in electric vehicles and they predict that some models could be cheaper than the equivalent petrol version soon. That could be the tipping point.

Even Jaguar is getting in on the game for those who want something chunky. I do like some of the Jaguar models, but I could never justify the cost and they are so against my green principles.

I know electric cars still cause pollution in manufacture, but our living environment will be better without them belching out pollutants as they drive around. Around half of the UK's power is coming from low carbon sources these days (wind, solar and nuclear). This site shows the breakdown in real time. Obviously no solar right now as it's dark out there.

We have to accept that we can't keep burning oil forever. Electric cars have come a long way since the old milk floats. Batteries are likely to improve and costs will fall as production scales up.

Maybe the future is bright.

I'm Steve, the geeky guitarist.

I'll buy guitar picks for Steem Dollars

If this post is over seven days old you can vote up one of my newer posts to reward me.

Spam comments may be flagged

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center