The American Dream

Hello Fellow Steem Members!

Since my introduction might not have been great before , I thought I'd tell you a little more about myself. This is where I was born (Pakistan) lived under poverty most of my time there , we never had food to eat, our cloths were always ripped , my dad never came home because he was ashamed he could never support us . I had a younger brother and an older brother . We use to share each other's cloths to make it by . No one really helped us there , family was poor themselves . My dad had applied for us to come to the US , and after 16 years , we were able to come . They say , it's the land of opportunity .

IMG_6871.JPG

After getting to the USA we lived upstate in someone's basement , all 5 of us . It was very small ... my dad was able to work in the gas station in front of the house so we could live in the basement .

My first day of school was horrible . I did not know a word in English , everyone picked on me and took my snacks. For about two years I was not able to learn proper English , until I was in 2nd grade.

I began to progress faster and learn much more . I never really needed summer school but still went to learn more . I ended up skipping two grades and graduating high school faster . My dad still doesn't have an ideal job, I may not be able to say that I'm rich, but I have food on my table and a family that loves me .

Now I'm almost about to graduate from college and enter law school, I always wanna make my parents dream come true of bringing us here for another chance at life. I will never give up on my dream and my brothers and I support one another to do better.

Just because you're not where you want to be , doesn't mean you should give up. Things change with time, if effort is made .

IMG_4732.JPG

Here is where I'm chasing my dreams now, NYC. Keep chasing yours

Thanks for reading !

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center