Street Money

They say the streets of London are paved with gold. It's not true, of course, I should know; I grew up there but what you can find is Free Money strewn all over the place. Now before hoards of people decide to start swimming across the channel armed with a dustpan and brush in the hopes of making a fortune, I should point out the pickings are rather slim, and it's not every day you find something.

I tend to find coins when I'm walking Charlie, our dog, in our local public park. I suppose most people lose money from their pockets in the park while jumping around all over the place. Sometimes, and obviously, I'm guessing here; it looks like coins have been discarded deliberately by their former owners. They form a line as if they've been thrown there. Why anyone would throw money away, even a penny, is beyond me. I tend to find a fair amount in the street; I suppose it's from people walking along counting their coins and not bothering to pick up that "It's only a penny" that's dropped on the pavement. I can never understand that attitude: "It's only a penny!" if you've got a penny, you're not penniless, are you? 😉

The best finds I've ever had was a £10.00 note and a £5.00 note, although I found those in the street. I saw a program once about Motorways, and it was jaw-dropping how much paper money workers find strewn up and down the M1 and M6. What are these people doing? Driving along while holding a wad of £20 notes out the window? I Mostly find one pence coins; anything silver such as 5, 10, 20 or 50 pence pieces is like you've really found something worthwhile, and you've really struck gold if you find a one or two-pound coin!

To be honest, once I've found a few, I put them in a bigger money box and then at the end of the year, I'll give them to either Guide dogs for the Blind or the NSPCC because I'm actually a lovely person in real life. 😇


My actual name is Pete. Here is why I have the username dickturpin.


You can also find me on Social Media

https://mastodon.org.uk/@dick_turpin
https://castlecannon.house/profile/srednivashtar
https://twitter.com/dick_turpin
https://www.facebook.com/peter.cannon3

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Creative Commons Licence
License explained: Examples
Create your license: Choose

Podcaster. FOSS, Linux & Creative Commons Advocate.

"Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency