Welcome to our New Apartment; We're finally HOME :)

Welcome to our new home everyone! Brian and I both feel like we hit the jackpot with this one :)

Here's the view from the street. The owner of this place is an artist, among so many other things, so all of the tile and wrought iron work is his alone :)
fo6ntt23ja.png

Jorge (George) our landlord, lives on the second floor and is simply amazing. That's our place at the top with the palapa covering (thatched roof). Very authentic Mexico :) He actually let us move in without a contract while he was away in Mexico City. It's so very different from our old place, but that is for another post! This one is going to be 100% positive :)
5clkcks31p.png

For years now, while on holidays, Brian and I have walked by this mosaic tile dolphin mural, and have been in awe of its' beauty; it's so serendipitous that this is now where we call "home" !
mgxc3ugrhg.png

There's very little plain cement anywhere. Everything is a mosaic; broken tile designs 'pushed' into the wet cement ... it really is beautiful! I also found out that #5 (Roman numeral V) is George's lucky number, so it's placed just about everywhere. Do you see it?

cnssf2qmv6.png

Not long ago I wrote a post about a cenote Brian and I went to, and we both loved it so much. Well, just inside the front gate is this spectacular pool, and guess what?? Its water source is a cenote, an underground fresh water spring!!! In fact, all of the water pumped into the property is from the cenote. How cool is that??!

5bxrsi6fxt.png

At the top of the stairs is the entrance to our private patio and studio apartment. This patio is about 50 feet x 35 feet OR 15 meters x 10 meters!! It's huge! Here it is upon arrival,
pux67rpve3.png

and after we made it a bit more comfortable. Notice there's two hammocks as well :)
yysmkbe2pr.png

To the right is a laundry room and clothesline that I'm so happy to have! We both love the smell of clothes and especially sheets dried outside!
sq11qb32kh.png

This is my new steemit workplace ... this is the reason for my absence haha It's so very difficult to stay focused out here!
tb0uqvpjg5.png

Here's a closeup of our jellyfish wind-chime, made of a coconut exterior and shells, but look in the distance! We have a view of the ocean and of the Island of Cozumel. I told you!! Jackpot :) And all of this costs less than our last apartment!!

5r00t9lkne.png

Our first night here, before the comfy chairs, but regardless, it was so relaxing sitting out there!

458d2z7q0n.png
This is the view we wake up to. Brian and I both say that we have this feeling of being perpetually on holidays; we are both soooo relaxed and very very happy. In fact, the kids used to joke that they wanted to see Mexico Brian when we would return from holidays and went back to work in Vancouver. Now my love says, "Mexico Brian is back and he's here to stay !! "
9m9l0spkjf.png

Even Buddy doesn't know where to go first! He sleeps like a baby at night too ... no more bugging us; he's literally wiped out after his days of exploring :)
zs2b1m3n2s.png

I took this picture of him this morning, when I stepped outside and left him inside haha He's giving me that cat-look of shock and disgust that I'd even consider going outside without him haha
vdfh2gjvin.png

Oh!! I almost forgot. We have dogs!!! Ramona is the Boxer and Bandaleros is the ... rescue street dog haha We even have a landlord who loves his dogs and takes very very good care of them ... a bit of a rarity here :) I fed them bits of steak the first night we were here, so guess who's their best buddy? haha

1v5gjpyix9.png

After our scooter accident where we got cut off by a drunk taxi driver the other day, I feel like Ramona right now, so I am going to read an actual book with Brian in my comfy orange chair. Oh yeah, the taxi driver had his wife and baby (on her lap!) in the front seat! Crazy! If you didn't read the post, rest assured, we are fine, just a little bruised and sore. Thanks to so many of you for the thoughts and well wishes too!!

t3omcuyfnw.png

Brian and I feel unbelievably fortunate not only to have not been seriously hurt the other day, but to have finally found a place that feels like home, and to have a landlord that seems to be worth his weight in gold. After owning our own places for years, it's weird to be renting again, but George really does live by the adage, mi casa es tu casa, or my house is your house. I'm especially ecstatic that Brian is happy and relaxed here!

Hasta luego folks, that empty chair is calling my name :)
8g97zr25vr.png

Proud Member of :

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189


Asapers.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now