#localguide (Sumy, Ukraine) - Walk to the centre of the city. Part 2.

Today I with my child made another a walk to the city center and I got some new material that I can share with you. This will be a continuation of my yesterday's story about places which can be seen in the centre of Sumy.
This is the Monument to the bag, one of the symbols of our city.
IMG_5843.JPG
The name of our city Sumy can be translated into English as Bags. Its origin explains the old legend according to which in place of the current city was found 3 large bags with gold coins. Supposedly for the money in the 17th century the city was built, and 3 bags have become a symbol of the city.
IMG_5844.JPG
The columns shows 2 main churches of the city. One of them, called the Resurrection church, is just behind the Monument of the bag, and the second is called the Transfiguration (Spaso-Preobrazhensky) Cathedral and it is in the adjacent street.
IMG_5845.JPG
Both of these streets are pedestrianised. On the Cathedral street artists exhibit their paintings, wooden Handicrafts and souvenir magnets.
IMG_5851.JPG

IMG_5853.JPG
A little further down the street is a Monument to students.
IMG_5857.JPG
In 2004 the Ukrainian government decided to merge three Sumy universities into one school. Students all of three universities did not agree with this decision, on this very spot they broke the student tent city. These events, preceding the Orange revolution, entered the history of Ukraine as students fighting for their rights.
IMG_5858.JPG
Lantern of love - a meeting place of many lovers.
IMG_5862.JPG
The inscription can be translated as: I'm waiting because I'm in love.
IMG_5863.JPG
I hope you like my story. To see all of this, we had to pass only 150-200 meters along the main street.
The 1st part of my story is here https://steemit.com/localguide/@erikaflynn/localguide-sumy-ukraine-walk-to-the-centre-of-the-city and the last will be in some days.

If you have something to show or tell about your home town, join in and share your stories under the tag #localguide. Details you can read here https://steemit.com/originaltag/@erikaflynn/show-me-your-city-town-be-my-localguide. This is a virtual tours and they do not oblige you to anything in real life.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center