How long does it take to form healthy fitness habits (and stop drinking gin and tonic)?


If a week is a long time in politics, it’s even longer when you’re on a diet - sorry healthy eating regime.

Just seven days ago my resolve was seemingly unshakeable but a hectic week has seen fatal faultlines develop; skipped meals, an irresistible plate of home made lasagne, gin and tonics.

It’s hard not to feel a bit despondent, after all my goal is to shed weight for my health. Back in September I visited the state of the art metabolic laboratory in Newcastle University’s medical department, where I underwent a raft of tests that revealed my biological age is 20 years older than my birth age.

That means I am at risk of diseases associated with ageing such as cancer, diabetes and Alzheimer’s. The reason for this in my case is weight; although I don’t look heavy, I am quite simply too fat for my frame.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center