Tips & Motivation To Make The Big Changes In Life

Sometimes we get stuck in a rut, get bored or get overwhelmed and we need something to change. Realizing you need to change a few habits is the first step, but the actual change is difficult. I know, I'm going through it right now.

(Source)

I have two bad habits that I don't like. I am doing my best to get rid of them, so I had to find a way to jolt my system into new habits. Here are some things that I am doing to change my daily routines to help me quit smoking and drinking the amount of sodas I am drinking.

1. Physical Sign

For me it was cutting my hair and to me, that was a big deal. My hare was the longest it has ever been, and I love having long hair. The problem is I look ridiculous. I have curly hair and when it is long I look like Einstein... with more grey than I'd like to admit. I decided it was time to cut my hair and do my best to make a physical sign of my dedication to change.

2. Moving Things Around

I have an office in my garage because our house is relatively small. There is no real place I can go and not be disturbed. Plus one reason I liked the garage is because I could smoke in it. Not anymore. I'm moving my office inside and this will likely be the last post from my old location. I'm moving to a new desk I set up in my house. Hopefully the kids will let me work during the day.

3. Exercise

For me, this is tough. My goal here isn't to lose weight, that would be nice though, but to cut the bad habits first. Then worry about getting in shape. So right now, I'm just going to try and stay active. I'm going to start by going to the YMCA in the morning to keep my mind focused and my lungs clear. Working out stimulates the mind, it really does.

4. New Media

Now that I am changing a lot of things around me, I'm also going to change some of the music and media I consume. I'm not going to listen to songs that remind me of driving around smoking. I'm going to listen to comedy and a Clive Cussler book on CD to distract me. I'm going to do the best I can to bring in new music and media to start building new associations.

5. New Rituals

I really love to smoke after I eat, so I am going to start a new ritual. After every meal I am going to post an Instagram photo. I know it sounds dumb, but if I can take pictures throughout the day and then spend my time on Instagram after each meal, I hope I will distract myself enough to stop thinking about smoking. I need to fill my time with something and I have not given Instagram any dedication in a while, so it might be time.

Suggestions?

Let me know what works for you when you are trying to make a big change. Have you ever tried to quit smoking? Have you succeeded? Let me know in the comments below. 

Thanks for reading.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center