An Update on My Housing Situation - The Continuation...

walking up to my house.jpg

Two and a half weeks ago, I shared an update on my ongoing house changing. Kind of the story of my life, in the last 10 to 15 years.

In fact...

prepare yourself and take a deep breath before you continue...

Since January 2009, a year and 4 months after graduating from University, I have lived in respectively: Granada ( where I continued Spanish classes that I started late 2007 in Salamanca ), Madrid, Gouda ( at my parents ), Amsterdam ( 3 places in less than a year ), 2010/11 Utrecht ( at my brother's ), The Hague ( house sitting, several times ), my parents ( again! ), 2013: a cabin in a bungalow park ( not far from Utrecht ), Utrecht again ( in the place where my brother lived, he moved in with his gf ), 2015/16 Rotterdam, Gouda again ( briefly before going to the Canary islands ), three different places on that little island, in half a year. And, after returning to The Netherlands, in March 2017, I spent some months at my parents, two months in the cabin in that same bungalow park and some months at my twin sister's place, before I finally left The Netherlands for good ( early 2018 ). I then stayed in Berlin ( two places in 10 days ) and spent some days or weeks in Granada, Madrid, Ronda, Tarifa and Sevilla, before I ended up in Portugal. There, I spent about a month on a camping, in a little caravan and then some time traveling ( and camping ) with my twin sister and her family. They dropped me off at a camping again, where I first spent weeks in a tent and then about a month in a bungalow ( trying to find a house ). Then I ended up spending some months on my sister's newly acquired land. Until, in September 2018, I was finally able to sleep in my own house.

In the two and a half years since, I have spent some months there, then 5 weeks in The Netherlands to visit friends and family and make the move official. Shortly after returning to Portugal, I have spent 5 weeks in a room next to the village's restaurant, while my house was being renovated. I then stayed two months at my sister's again ( camping ), as the renovation was delayed due to rain ( I needed a new roof and that's impossible in Portugal when it might rain ). Then, in the Summer of 2019, two to three months after the renovation had finished, I left Portugal again and spent two months in The Netherlands and - in between - some time in Switzerland. And after my return, I kind of spent 5 months in my house, until I was tired of it again.

In February 2020, I visited the Netherlands again, not knowing that I would stay for 4 months. In March 2020, the lock down happened and I was stuck in The Netherlands. I found a house where I could stay for three months.

In June, I returned to Portugal. In September, I started feeling depressed in my house on the mountain, in a town filled with old people wearing masks and a lot of fear. A place where the only restaurant had closed down at the start of that month.

I moved to my brother-in-law and twin sister's place and started staying in their guest house. Come mid December, I moved to the house that I'm currently house sitting.

I have spent a little over 3 months here and now it's time to move on, again ;<)

Man, just writing the above makes me tired ( and not just because of the repetitive use of the word 'spent' ) hahaha.

Believe me, I feel tired a lot lately and not just because of all this moving around. Although, the fatigue might have oozed into my DNA by now.

In all honesty, this place is pretty awesome and I would not necessarily mind staying here a little longr. But it belongs to friends of my sister and I ( a Dutch family that we met last Summer ), who will emigrate and move in here, early May.

And now we're almost back at where I wanted to start this post. Last week I updated you all on my housing situation and I talked about a house on the hill, 2 minutes walking from where I am typing this.

You can read the full story here, in case you missed it but if you don't let's tell you that my house has been for sale since November. I hoped to sell it soonish and buy more bitcoin before the crypto market would start its bull run and then the bull run - or at least phase 1 - happened.

My plan was to sell my house, buy more crypto coins and wait for my crypto portfolio to multiply my money so I could buy myself something else. A place less isolated with some land.

I really like the area where I'm currently residing, as well as my current and future neighbors.

I then set my eyes on a house on the hill ( the white one with the pointy roof that you can see on the pictures ).

Shortly after my previous housing update, things happened...

I learnt that the place was for rent.

Now things really started to get interesting!

The price was also lower than I expected, very affordable.

Since then, a lot of things happened. It seemed like someone else was going to rent the house for half a year ( and I kind of let go of the idea of renting it myself, for 90% or so ) but, to make a long story short, I received a message this morning that I can probably rent it, after all and then had a coffee this afternoon at my neighbor's place, who is in touch with the owner and he really got my hopes up.

Also, this weekend, there will be a possible buyer for my house ( I lowered the price quite a lot, a week ago ). I decided to hire my twin sister and bro in law to take care of that. I have no car and I find this kind of stuff pretty stressful, plus they can use some extra cash and are extremely social, less introvert than me.

Let's see how things go :<)

To get back to the house on the hill... If all goes well, I will be able to move in on April the 23rd, 2 days after I intend to release my first book

TO BE CONTINUED ;<)
WhatsApp Image 2021-03-07 at 10.06.50.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center