Been in Hospital and not posted for 2 weeks :-(

Ouch! That's the only word that describes that last 2 weeks of my life ......

FullSizeRender.jpg

So, I've been in hospital as I needed an operation on my Spine. Towards the top, C4/C5 and C5/C6 had collapsed following a skiing accident in 2015. I may not be the best skier in the world, but I can hold my own and get down pretty much any slope - but I don't have eyes in the back of my head and was hit from behind by someone who was completely out of control. The result of this has been 2 years of pain, ending in the operation I've just had.

FullSizeRender-1.jpg
me feeling crappy 3 days after surgery still in hospital with a swollen neck!

I've never had a major operation before and honestly thought they were signing me off work for 8 weeks as a bit of a jolly!! I had no idea it would wipe me out as much as it has, meaning I couldn't even post to Steemit :-(

The operation is completed by cutting into your throat; moving aside the voice box, Trachea and Esophagus - these are clamped to the side for around 2 hours giving the surgeon access to the front of the spine so they can repair the damage. For me, this was completely removing 2 discs and replacing them with Carbon Fibre discs and then bolting the whole lot together.

It's now been 2 weeks and the damage they went in to fix is healing well, but I still have a heap of throat problems as a result of the surgery. I can just about talk again now, but still can't eat solid food and therefore on a very boring runny soup diet! For the first few days after surgery, I would even choke on water and the pain was bonkers.

Thankfully I have a drug called Oramorph to help manage the pain and also get me to sleep at night!

FullSizeRender-2.jpg
my new best friends haha

From Monday though, my plan is to get back to posting daily recipes starting with as much 'feel good' food as possible :-).

Big hugs
Sacha xx

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center