MY FIRST CRUMPET BOUGHT FOR ME BY A STEEMIAN ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THE WORLD

me eating crumpet 2.jpg
Just the word crumpet sounds so deliciously fancy to me. I’m really not sure where I first heard it, but it was probably on some foo-foo TV show I was watching. Y’all definitely know how to turn the mundane into something special because from our perspective there seems to be a heck of a lot of “tea and crumpets” happenin’ across the pond.

And, that folks, was the extent of my crumpet understanding.

Until today.

Please, allow me to push the rewind button. A week or so ago I’m surfing steemit and I see a post from @holoz0r about how he recently lost his job. However, his ability to see the silver lining of life totally impressed me. Somehow through his difficult circumstance, he was able to celebrate the fact that he was waking up to crumpets.

Yum, I thought. And then I commented that I have never had one.

Well, apparently that hit a nerve with @mattclarke. He seemed genuinely appalled.

conversation 1.jpg!

And then, my friends, @mattclarke transferred 5 SBD in my account with a simple note:

Go Buy Some Crumpets.

Now, this is totally the coolest thing that has ever happened to me on steemit. I mean, this guy from Australia wants to treat my family to breakfast!

The problem is, you can’t just hit the corner store in small town USA and find crumpets. We looked. We called. NO ONE SELLS CRUMPETS AROUND HERE!

We were told they are similar to English muffins, but that wouldn’t do. I had to try them. So my wonderful husband ordered me some.

Guess what? They came today!!

crumpet in bag.jpg

I opened the pack. My first thought? They’re fat free. Ummmm...this wasn’t their finest claim to deliciousness, but I remained hopeful.

I carefully removed one from the plastic. It felt spongy.

I smelled it. Not sure that was the best idea.

Plugging on, I read the directions. Toast until golden brown. Check.
Favorite topping? Apricot preserves should do.

And…

me eating first crumpet.jpg

They were lovely.

They were delightful.

I had two.

You'll notice my pinky is not extended but trust me, I was tempted. Maybe that’s only for tea. I have no idea.

I’m so uncultured.

So, I'd like to extend a very BIG thanks and a shout-out to my friend @mattclarke for making my family’s Sunday so special and refined.

Now, let’s get you to try a deep-fried Twinkie. ;)

Pip Pip Cheerio for now!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now