Life Is About Taking Risks (Careers, Moving, Crypto, etc). Here's A Story of Risk/Dream I Had.

b612a335-df5d-4d96-963b-9bd3d65015ec.jpeg


I had wanted to live in New York City my entire life. Sure I bet movies had something to do with that --- how they made it look so glamorous, filled with so much opportunity, and where I believed dreams came true.

I had the opportunity to intern in NYC right after college. I only knew one person, was taking a job in an industry that I learned nothing about in college (but it excited me), and it was almost as far away from home aka my security blanket as I could get. However, life is all about risks to follow dreams, right?

I had the best summer of my life. I met a group of girls that were so kind and had a great roommate who did everything with me -- truly got lucky to have been surrounded by such great people. I loved my mentor at the job I took... she called me the Arnold Schwarzenegger to her Danny Devito since I am tall and she is short and I knew we were the perfect match at that moment. I learned how to be on my own too. I made some mistakes when first riding the subway that resulted in me going WAY further than I needed to go. Also, I got lost a few times until I figured out how the streets worked... I literally walked across to the other side of NYC in the middle of the night after going out. Best of all, there was always something going on in NYC.

Despite how much fun I had, I still went home to Arizona at the end of the summer instead of taking a full time job there. I did still work for the same company in Arizona so it worked out, but why go home if NYC was my dream?

Simple: It wasn't my dream anymore. I realized I loved the mountains. I loved being able to be outdoors and smell fresh air. I loved being able to get dinner with friends and not have it spend a fortune. I loved being close to family.

The best part - I am able to look back & have no regrets that I didn't at least try to live in NYC. I pursued a dream and realized what I wanted had changed. Sometimes, life does change our paths, and we have to roll with it and be ok with that change. :)

Happy Saturday everyone!

Also, been experimenting with @steepshot and I recommend you all look into using it too! I think it's great for quick posts.

#portraitphotography


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot | IPFS | Google Play
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now