Celebrating Getting my First Job as a Doctor!...and some thoughts on Steem.


Hey Steem Folk!


(See Link Here)


This has been a very exciting week for me because I found out after much interviewing that I will be working in June at a hospital in Indianapolis (my first choice) as a resident in family medicine ! 


To say the least, applying for a job after medical school is a nerve racking process. Some medical students can graduate as a doctor and have no job. If you are not selected, you have to wait another year to try and get a residency. This increases stress because the average medical student debt is around 200,000 dollars. It's competitive because there are more medical students than residency positions. For the past 6 months, I have had 12 interviews all over Indiana and Chicago. 


There is a process called "The Match." You send your application to multiple hospitals and they ask you to interview if they consider you a strong candidate. Usually there are only 7 or 8 positions and hundreds of applicants to each hospital. After the interview process you rank your hospitals you want to go to, and they rank you too. Then you go to the medical school and open the letter of "The Match" results. It is a bit of a "hype" and kind of reminds me of the NBA Draft or something haha.


I was thrilled, to say the least, to get my first choice!! Family medicine is the only residency at this hospital so we will get experience as hospitalists, delivering babies, pediatrics, and good ol' office medicine! 


(See Link Here)

I would like to thank the Steem community for being very active in my posts about medicine, and I can say that Steem has made me a better writer. In addition, I have been better able to explain harder medical topics in an easier way. These skills will be very important in improving the health of my patients.


In a month and a half, I will graduate medical school...then some vacation...then real medicine!

 

Thank you Everyone! 


Some Thoughts on Steem 

(See Link Here)


I thought it would also be fun to write about the exciting times on Steem. Wow! What a week! When the hope was draining, BAMMMMM! We rose to the top. Breaking the sell lines faster than they could put them up on the internal market. This is the energy we need! 


At this point, things are settling down a little, but I believe that the hold line will stick at a much higher line. Not so long ago (even in crypto-terms haha) we were at 7 cents! Now the big question, should we pump in more? I think Steem will continue to rise...but when may be another question.... A great conservative way would be to post now and hold that steem (preferably in Steem Power). That post is an investment of time, which will likely serve you well in the future! 

This is an exciting community, and it's an honor to be a part of it. Thanks to all my followers for helping me along the way, and I look forward to supporting this community as I progress in my career as a new doctor! 


THANKS AGAIN! 



Feel free to follow me for more medical/science posts and music! 


CHEERS!


*All pictures from pixabay.com and are public domain, links provided. 

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now