We Watched a Rocket 🚀 Launch! SpaceX Falcon 9 West Coast Landing.

Last Sunday our family had the opportunity of a lifetime. We were able to view a SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket take off and land for the first time on the West Coast.

My wife and I were looking for things to do with the kids last weekend, and I stumbled upon an article talking about how SpaceX was going to attempt the first landing of a Falcon 9 rocket on the West Coast tomorrow. Being that we are brand new residents of California, I took out my phone and pulled up the GPS to find out that the launch site was only 2 hours from the house.

SpaceX Launch Complex is located on Vandenberg Air Force Base. Being in the Military, my first reaction was to call the base and see if we could get any lodging. I wanted to be as close to the action as possible. Luckily they had one room left!

The next morning we got up early, loaded all of the kids, even grandma and headed for the coast. We made a day of it, stopping in wine country to see all of the beautiful vineyards, Morro Bay to do some shopping, and we even drove the Jeep out on the sand at Pismo Beach. We had a great family day, but everyone was most excited to see the rocket launch that evening.

After checking into the hotel on base, it was T-minus 30mins to launch! We got some details on the best place to spectate and drove as close to the launch site as the guards would let us. This was either going to be really cool or turn out really badly!

IMG_8300.jpeg

Video of the launch, it obviously was much cooler in person. I thought that it was going to break the sound barrier on launch, but I was wrong it didn't go supersonic until the landing.

IMG_8303.jpeg

IMG_2382.jpeg
The colors that this rocket produced were amazing. My iPhone doesn't do it justice at night, but it was eerie, almost like space was opening up towards us.

IMG_2387.jpeg

IMG_8311.jpeg
The separation of Stage 1 & 2. SAOCOM 1A Environmental Satellite going to orbit, and the booster coming back to earth to attempt a landing. It literally looked like it was going to land right on us! Successful landing! Turn up your speakers and hear the Sonic Boom!💥 My son declaring "We're Famous" Lol. Historic moment. 😂

This truly was an experience to remember, I know it is something that my kids will probably remember forever. I'm just glad we had the opportunity to share something like this with them!

Thanks for checking out our adventure.

-steemengines

steemengines_blue.png



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now