My Journey To Become A Runner - A Continuing Story - Part 1

My Journey To Become A Runner 🏃‍♀️

It's not been easy and it still isn't as I don' t feel like a runner yet but I'm giving it my all. I try and go out running 3 or 4 times a week, running anything from 5k to 21k but it hasn't always been like that!

B314F1FE-18D1-47AB-9228-A0768CC65A77.jpg

When I started out back in 2015 I was struggling to run a mile, as you can see from the picture above. I wasn't really enjoying it but was pretty determined to do it. It wasn't that I was unfit as I'd always gone to the gym and fitness classes like Zumba. Running is a mental sport, it is a battle between your legs telling you that you need to stop and your brain telling you that you can do it.

IMG_0701.JPG

I love this quote as it's so true

After posting my runs on Facebook and complaining how hard it was a friend suggested I try the couch to 5k app. I was very optimistic but I downloaded it onto my phone and set out for 8 weeks of training so I could run 5k without walking. That's some achievement! 😀

64896C15-2571-4A03-905A-BE51A81F21BC.jpg

The picture above shows how the next few weeks went, as you can see it worked, I was running 5k (3.1 miles) all be it very slow!

IMG_0703.JPG

So this is how it all started, if you want to know how it continued then follow me, upvote and resteem to see my future posts.

Happy reading peeps 🖤

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center