Xmas 2023.... From Wales to London!

I actually had quite a nice XMAS this year... starting in Wales and now in London, it's been all good!

Xmas on the farm...

I did something I've never done before which is take up the offer of an Xmas invite - and old friend of mine's partner's parents work a 38 acre farm in West Wales, and I couldn't resist that!

20231225_094059.jpg

It was great - just basically food, friends and lounging around. They keep cows and so we had some of their own home-reared beef on Xmas day, and I helped out with the feeding Xmas day morning - it's all hand-done, well, with the help of a tractor for moving the hay bails.

The farm is idyllic... cows, sheep, a working corgi dog, neurotic cat and ducks...

IMG-20231226-WA0000.jpeg

Then a 9 hour drive to London day after boxing day....

The least fun aspect of the holiday was the mammoth drive to London to stay with a friend....

Screenshot_20231229_110200_Maps.jpg

This was storm day, it rained the whole journey and I was about an hour ahead of the mental weather all the way... behind me in Wales it was trees down and flooding and blocked roads, had I left an hour later I may not have got anywhere.

And it was a day in which pretty much anyone with a car had jumped in it to travel, so BUSY, busy the whole journey.

London of course was the worst... at one junction the SatNav said 10 miles to go and 1 hour 6 minutes... I could have just about run the final leg quicker than driving!

But anyway, 9 hours later I arrived and it's just been more beer, food, lounging, all good!

We took a trip to Crystal Palace park yesterday, wandered around the old site of the Great Exhibition... never been, but what a waste of an area...

All that's left is these....some terracota Sphinxes, bizarre!

20231229_143305.jpg

Today is the first time in a week I've managed to get a bit of time to myself and am just enjoying catching up on a few Hive things before heading back to Hereford for the New Year and then back into work on the 2nd.

Overall a top Xmas 2023!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center