Why I Stopped Smoking And Will Never Smoke Again

I am smoking for more than 2 years, and more than 100 people told me to quit smoking, but I never gave a shit. But fortunately, it took only 3 days of my life to make me understand that how I am killing myself. This is my real life personal story. Actually, I don't like to tell about my personal life to others, but maybe this post can motivate someone.

Is this post have some supernatural power?

Absolutely not.

I am a smoker, and I can tell that nobody can stop you from smoking. You are the only one who can relieve yourself from smoking.
I bet this is not the first time you are reading an article which will tell you not to smoke. And the funny part is I am not going to do so but even if I do. You will not give a shit.

I here to tell you why I left smoking and trust me if I had not left smoking myself, then no one else ever could help me. You are the creator of your own destiny and the destroyer as well. I think I have given enough lecture. Sorry for that. Now let me tell you about that 3 days.

Before proceeding let me tell you how I started smoking. I will try to make it as short as possible.

7 out of 10 people have the same reason for smoking. And unfortunately, I am one of that 7 people. I was 18 when I started smoking, but I never did it intentionally. At that time the age was such that the obsession with trying new things was too much. But I wish I had never tried to smoke, but I did.

Do not laugh, but I had tried Beer before smoking. One night I went to a party when my friend told me to taste Beer. At first, I denied, but later then I thought what was wrong in taking a sip. But I never realized when that one sip turned into a full bottle. As the days went on, more bottles became empty.

I continued to console myself by saying that there is nothing wrong in beer rather it is beneficial for our body. Maybe it is, or maybe it is not. According to me my curiosity of tasting new things reached the pic when I took a cigarette between my fingers.

In the first day, I took only one puff. But fortunately, I stopped before taking one packet a day.

I think I told you how I started smoking. Now let me tell you about that 3 cursed as well as blessed days of my life.

I was busy in my life, smoking and drinking. But destiny had something different for me. It played a game with me and changed my life. Those days I was in the 2nd semester of BSc. I was never thought about cancer. But one day I coughed for the whole day. Luckily I got some Strepsils(Sore Throat Lozenges) which saved my next day.

When I reached home, I saw my throat with a flash light. And there was a little lump in my throat. The moment I saw that I got goosebumps. I still remember how my heart was beating at that time.

My head started hurting. I never felt so scared in my life. I grabbed my phone started to search symptoms of cancer. And more than 3 symptoms were matching which gave me more pain in my heart.

I didn't eat anything that day. I was too scared to go to a doctor. I was praying to God to give me another chance. But as the days went by my fear about cancer was increasing too. But somehow I told my parents that, " I have tonsillitis, and I want to go to a doctor." But I told them to get an appointed after 3 days because I had exams until the next 3 days.

But I never thought that those 3 days were going to be the worst days of my life.

The more I thought, the scarier it became. I lost 3 Kilos in 3 days. I hardly eat something. In those 3 days, I saw my throat more than 1000 times in the hope that they will fade away. I used many home remedies, but nothing worked which made my prediction more strong. I tried to divert my mind many times. I tried to play games, listen to music, watch movies but nothing worked.

At that time the cigarette seemed like poison. My mind said, "Go grab one cigarette". But my heart stopped me. I used to use my daily 1 GB internet limit searching for symptoms of cancer and its cure. But whatever I saw was not motivational. I saw a road to darkness. For once I thought to end my life, but I thought If I am going to die then I will die as a fighter, not as a coward.

After 3 days I went to the doctor. He told me to do some tests. The next day the results came. And guess what...........................

It was not CANCER....

I can describe how happy I was after hearing that news. I got a new life and smoking was not a part of it.

That day I realized the value of life.

Curiosity is good but in a good cause not in smoking. Think about your parents and think about yourself.

Smoking is not an ornament to look cool or medicine to heal pain. You are the one who can change yourself.

At last, I will say just one thing. This Life Is Too Short To Waste. Choose Life not Smoking.


Follow me for future posts...

Picture Taken From Shutterstock.com

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now