New Job, New Outlook: The First Day At A New Employer Today Sheds The Shackles Of The Past. I Think I Know Why...

I just know my regular followers will be biting their nails waiting to hear how my first day on the job went today. Top notch is the quick response.

Screenshot_2017-08-28-20-08-05.png
How's this for an office view? The premises is the nicest I've ever worked in.

There's a laundry, games room, a catered kitchen and lunch room, sitting areas (google style), balcony with city views, BBQ, fruit, drinks, coffee, tea, just everything you'd expect. It seriously looked like a QANTAS club that you'd enjoy time in before a business class flight.

The people were lovely and I actually genuinely felt welcome. I even enjoyed the drive in and the drive home. It was comfortable and relaxed despite the traffic. What more could you ask for from a first day?

Like many people I'm sure however, regardless of how experienced I am or how much exposure to starting at a new firm I may have had, I've always suffered from the classic butterflies in the stomach or elevated heart rate... the normal nerves. I've never been able to rationalise why. I mean that's a school boy type reaction to a new environment, right? I'm a professional after all.

In my professional career, I've never had need to feel that way. I've always worked in white collar environments and have been greeted largely with professionalism and helpful attitudes. Well, today, for the first time every, I can honestly say that I didn't get that physiological reaction.

This could be largely because I've recently crossed a threshold in life where I'm increasingly able to identify the valuable things in life and not place much importance on everything else (work being one of those things). I think however there's something else that worked to my advantage.

You see, recently I've given up caffeine. I've learned something important about matching diet to personality type (something I plan to blog about in the near future) but suffice to say now that the lack of stimulation I think really allowed me to calmly enjoy the experience today without the usual silly "nerves".

So a quick post but something important for me in terms of self discovery and self respect. Remember, I'm only starting this job because I took a personal stand at the last place of employment and voluntarily left. Had I not done this, I wouldn't be working in the palatial environment I am now.

Thanks for reading! More to come...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center