Golf with My Father-in-law

My father-in-law, Sam, was stationed in Germany guarding the Berlin Wall when he was in the military. My wife had told me he liked German beer and had frequented pubs while in Germany. I found out later he even had his nose broken a couple of times on those trips to the German pubs. From my experiences in Germany, the German people are great. I've been to several pubs in Germany and never suffered from a broken nose.

Shortly after we got married the in-laws were up visiting when Sam and I played golf. I have to tell you of all the things I can do well, golf is not one of them. I love to watch the pro golfers play and am just amazed at some of the shots they hit. Of course, I also like to see them screw up really bad and I can think to myself that "even I could have made that shot".

During the round of golf, on one of my tee shots I had a line of trees to my right. This is bad because I tend to slice to the right on tee shots quiet often. I line up my shot knowing I have to make good contact on this par 5 hole to have a chance even getting out of it with a bogey. Turns out I didn't slice. I hit the ground before I hit the ball which barely made it 50 yards down the fairway. But it was straight down the fairway, different for me.

After watching the ball dribble to a stop just past the women's tee I turned to put my club in the bag. When I did, Sam looked at me and said "Mike, a little advice, hit the little ball first". I am thinking to myself that this is not a way to impress your new father-in-law that plays golf three times a week.

I finally survived the round of golf and decided to move on to something I knew more about, beer. Since Sam had been in Germany I thought he might like a German beer to remind him of old times. There's a local bar here, Shallo's that specializes in beers from around the world. Forty beers on tap and over 300 in bottles and cans from around the world, I thought this would be perfect for Sam.

Sam and I get to Shallo's and take a seat at the bar. I order a basket of homemade chips, which are really great at Shallo's, and a Warsteiner Pilsener. The Warsteiner Pilsner was a great beer for the day. At the end of our round it was warming into the low 80's and the Pilsener is great for that. While sitting at the bar waiting, Sam had looked over the beer coolers to decide what beer he wanted to try. Remember there are 40 beers on tap and 300 in bottles and cans from around the world at this pub. Sam looks at the bartender and calmly said "I'll have a Bud Light".

There are some days you just cannot win.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center