To Bot Or Not To Bot..?

Alright Steemians,

How are you all today? Doing well I hope, I'm feeling extra about myself as this is the third day on the trot I've made time to post here. Well done if you're making it happen too, it's not what we do but how often and why we do it that really matters!


Hard life eating all this delicious food while working on the blog!

So as I was trawling my social media feed today and saw a close friend had asked her following about blogging. She said she's looking to get back into it and does anyone have any suggestions. Of course I jumped at the chance to introduce her to Steemit!


It seems I missed my chance as she's already decided to buy into Wordpress. Oh well, I've managed WP blogs in the past and I still do now. Nothing against them, however they cost money, take a decent amount of time learning to set up, as well as optimize SEO and ultimately drive traffic.

I did my best to explain how Steemit is FREE, we already have great community support here and she'll earn out the gate which of course is the main driver for most people who start blogging these days. Perhaps if this post does well it'll grab her attention and she says she'll still "check it out".. so let's keep our fingers crossed for her.


Now let's get down to today's bidness shall we.. source

The question I was posting in today's team discussion was about the "Bot" situation! What bot situation I hear you say? Wait there's a situation? Well no not really but many don't know what a bot is in the first place. In short Steemit is a welcome place for all internet users, some of which are not of the human kind!

The simplest way I can explain it is, some smarty pants have figured out how to code programs to perform certain actions autonomously on behalf of their human masters. No the robots ain't taking over the world.. not just yet.

Some people are against Bots and it's been interesting to read the differing views here in the mostly libertarian space of Steemit. Actually social networking maestro @Stackin recently posted about it and it's clear there are still very split views on bots being part of the community.


Source: When Steemians Realized 70% of "UPVOTES" are Controlled By "BOTS"

My take on Bots is that they are amazing! I see them as tools to make life easier, especially voting bots to support authors we already love. We could use them to mutually and autonomously support each other, it's not like we won't follow up, read and engage with each others posts now is it(?).

Lightening our "to-do" lists and free up more time to actually read, create, live and occasionally be away from the internet. While I'd love to be an engagement superstar like our man Charles, he's truly a driving force of inspiration for me to do more and hustle harder! Big up brother, for sure there's no replacement for real human interaction. However bots could help us support each others work.

Don't let bots take our jobs @Lewisjfclarke, let's make them work for us!

So what do you think, can we responsibly employ bots to help us out? Do they dilute the value or engagement of our efforts on Steemit or do they enhance them?

More specifically to the Mastermind group, would you like a step by step guide to setting up your @steemvoter rules? I can explain how we can automate support for each others posts. Or do you feel that it would get out of control and steal engagement away from our team building?

Lunch is calling now, so back to fatherly duties and stuffing my face with @iamjamie's amazing home cooked food!


@iamjamie makes the best homemade vegan burgers ever!

I'd love to hear your comments and thoughts for us as a group as well as the wider effect of bot presence in the Steemit ocean. If you haven't yet joined our group please feel free to consider yourself invited and click the banner below.

Wholeness.

TWITTER http://twitter.com/kenistyles
FACEBOOK https://www.facebook.com/keni.styles
CHECK OUR BLOG FOR MORE http://kenicamz.com

Join the discussion at Steemit Mastermind Group

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center