The most random event I've ever been to: World Championship in skrei cod tongue cutting

Did you know that Norwegian kids make a lot of money cutting cod tongues? Well, I didn't. Not until I moved up north. Here, many kids work weekends and holidays and they are able to make hundreds of dollars a day! I wish I had better pictures of it, but basically, they put the head on a stick, and cut. They get payed by the kilogram, so if you're really good then you're in for a high paycheck.

Not something I'd see myself doing right now, but it was a lot of fun watching the championship and seeing how it's done properly.

You can see the tongues that's been cut on the stick.

Oh, yes, people eat them! There are multiple ways of preparing the tongue, but I can't say I'm a fan. It's a bit slimy and bubblegum-ish ...

We drove for about 40 minutes, and got to a place called Myre, where a lot of the people works as fishermen.

The best cod ever is Skrei, and people here are super excited at this time a year because it's Skrei-time!


Coolest car at Myre.


Had to check out the area.


Three happy friends wandering around. The weather has been like this for ages! <3

Thanks for reading!

/Karianne

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now