Benefits of doing side splits

So, aside from being able to do a Jean-Claude Van Damme jumping double-kick split to take out of some bad guys who have violated the NAP... :-P

WHAT ARE THE BENEFITS OF DOING THE SIDE SPLITS?

-8.jpg
My rested side split.

  • Deep stretch of the thigh

This goes without saying. If you go into a split of any kind and bring it to your personal limitations, you will feel your thighs, namely the hamstring elongate and stretch. If you are sprinting or doing anything taxing to your lower chain, you will be compensating to your own body and eventually getting tight!
I recommend taking your time. It won't be something you can do right away but will be achieved with time and persistence.

  • Open up the hips/Hip flexors

Especially good for runners, swimmer, bikers, hikers, martial artist and kickers of all kinds. Really it is good stretch for all because most people stay seated all day and get terribly tight hips/flexors which in time will disrupt our whole chain.
Doing physical activity without opening up the hips and taking that load off your chain won't help the same way the splits and stretching in general can.

  • Reduce your chances of injury

Splits and stretching in general (done correctly) will keep those injuries away.
I have old injuries and still train hard ( Hard-smart that is ). I can feel when I need to take a load of my tendons and joints and stretching and namely the splits for my lower chain helps me out tremendously.

  • Deepens body awareness

This is a challenging posture. Especially when you push your own limits. YOU WILL FEEL EVERYTHING GOING ON lol
For me, I feel out and try to be aware of where I need to focus the stretch in the posture. How is my overall posture? Feel out the small adjustments that can give you the right leverage to get deeper into the spots needed. Breath.

  • Develops perseverance

If you are trying to acheive the full monty side split, or your personal best, wherever that is. You will feel everything going on, and you may want to quit. If you know your body well enough, you can discern between pushing your limit pain and real pain that is not going to make you but potentially break you. Find that "pushing your limit" zone and see how much of this is about mentality and perseverance. Again, breath.

I'd say there is more to stretching and the splits, both mind and body than I have listed here. I just thought I'd throw out 5 of them, both physical and mental that may be helpful should you take on opening up your Hips.

Aside from that, being able to double jump splits on a duo (or more )violating your NAP is always a good thing in the event it is needed. Agreed?

Ok, ok... maybe not tactically sound but you will look freaking badass pulling it off.

Here is some easy programming for you if you want to start.

  • Start with getting into a comfortable stretch position and slowly bring yourself to a point of where you can't press on.
    Be sure to continue breathing and focus on your breathe when you are ultimately pushing yourself.

  • Set a goal in time. 30 second in stretch, 20 seconds off is an easy scale. Doing as many sets as comfortable.
    You can also stay in a stretch that is not as intense much longer... But you'll need to take your time when you come out of it ( crickle, crack, need some Coconut oil or ghee to keep the joints lubricated lol) Well, I do anyway haha

  • Variations of the split. Side split with leaning to one side, front/back split, one leg in split, one leg back split, there are a lot of variations to this.
    Look into the variations so you are well balanced and basically don't get comfortable or bored of the singular side split.

Have fun and don't quit ;-)

I am @itsmein3d and I've been diligent in my splits and stretches. Enjoying being able to kick high and long, and being injury free!

I hope you like the post and found it to be useful.
Don't forget to upvote and resteem if your found this post helpful.

Stay well and steem on everybody. Peace!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center