You don't want to be in the quiet room



Our doctor looked at me, it is that time. Steeling myself before preceding him to the family awaiting for some news, I hardened my heart to what was coming. I can never get used to it. A part of me longs for the time that I won't be doing this anymore.

Imagine a scenario where your husband, your wife, your dad, your bestfriend, your neighbour, or anyone that you love going out of the house to go to work or being up and about the whole day and later on learnt that he or she have been taken to the hospital having a heart attack. Will your heart stop?

Admitted last night from a restaurant as he was a chef, he never complained of chest pain. According to his colleagues, he complained of dizziness then fell backward unconscious and never woke up. He was only 45 years old, was a SMOKER and a diabetic. Very young.

Against all hope and prayers, but he is gone. 

Last night I can feel the wife's pain and his friends. The feeling of loss was palpable, the sound hitting you to the core. A nurse job is not only to the patient, it inludes the family too. And to cry is not an option...you have to be fully aware and be there for all of them. You still have a job to do.


I want to remind you guys that not all heart attack is preceded by chest pain. In some cases, they will just collapse. Please call the ambulance ASAP.



All images are mine and are original, taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center