$10 burgers in USA, where and where not to do it

For someone like me, I find it completely absurd that someone would pay $10 for a burger anywhere. To me a burger is a food that has always been cheap and always should be and therefore $10 is too much. Keeping my opinion in mind, I want to talk about 2 places that have $10 burgers. One of them I feel is worth it, the other not.

orig.jpg

Prior to this trip I knew it was possible to get an expensive burger, but this would normally incorporate being at a sit-down restaurant and likely having a waiter / waitress and cloth napkins and what not. Apparently, expensive burger places are on the rise in the US, and while they are good, I am more of a price vs. performance kind of dude. I need to have a cost-benefit and in my mind, of the two expensive burger places we attended, only one of them is worth it.

Not worth it: 5 Guys

restaurant-5guys-burgers.jpg

I expect to catch some flak for this opinion but before you decide to slay me I want you to understand that I think their burgers ARE GOOD, also think Maine Rock Lobster is good, but I'm not going to pay $60 for it either. 5 guys is "blowing up" as a chain in the US, particularly on the East Coast, and they do pretty well, which is surprising to me. Even a basic burger here is going to be around $7 and if you want fries and a drink, you are likely well into the $12 area. The place is self-service too and although they keep the place clean and the food was tasty, i just don't think it is a good value at all.

4ed6d3f13f0de.image.jpg

This establishment focuses mostly on the basic burger and dogs with bacon. There are a few other options like hot dogs and chicken sandwiches and I actually appreciate their small, simple menu. I just think they are overpriced.

Sorry 5-guys, but I wont be back, and I don't think you are worth it.


Worth it: Burger Bach

I want to be completely transparent. Burger Bach has the opportunity to be considerably more expensive than 5-guys but I am basing the cost on simply the price of their burgers, not the craft beers and wine etc.

14455294-1424274405-640x360.jpg

Burger Bach's burgers range from $8 - $15 or so (it might have been a bit higher) and they also do not come with fries, but I feel as though the burgers were a bit more exotic and well, worth it. They had fusion Asian burgers, they had strange burgers that had peanut butter on them (which I have heard is amazing,) and of course they had the classics. I ordered a burger called the "West Coaster" and it was fantastic.

50d3532483664.image.jpg

One major problem with this establishment is that it is quite localized. It only exists in 5 cities on the East Coast of the USA. However, there was a time when 5-guys and even McDonalds was just as localized so keep an eye on this one, it will expand, i can assure you. The one we were in was slammin busy at 2 in the afternoon with no sign of it letting up.

Burger Bach might very well be the most amazing burger experience I have ever had in my life. Just tasty as can be from start to finish. If you find yourself near one, don't miss out on this chance. A one-of-a-kind experience.

Do you have a favorite burger place? I'd love to hear about it if you do. As always, your comments are appreciated and thanks for reading.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now