Living Frugal And Eating Well ~ Making Bread Crumbs At Home


Just One Of Many Brands Of Bread Crumbs

Cooks all over the world love those bread crumbs, and there are many kinds. They are perfect for fried fish, chicken, or okra. But let me suggest a better way! Save any container with a tight lid. As you go through daily life and have some little thing extra, dry it and grind it small in the blender. I had a little too much flax seed the other day to fill  up my jar, so I put the remainder in here. We eat a lot of raw nuts. When you get to the bottom of the jar, add all those little pieces to your can, grind if needed.  I add all different types of seeds and nuts to the can. When I see people leaving the ends of the bread loaf lying around, I dry and grind, adding it to the can. When I am cutting an herb. I dry and fill my spice jar and add any tidbits to this can. I never buy crumbs for anything. It is the perfect win-win situation. And the taste is more than perfect. 

Bread Crumbs

These were two ends of two loafs of bread. I dried till they were dry all the way through.  

No Fancy Blender Needed

Just push the grind button. You can also do with any pounding system for pounding spices. 

We live in a world of uncertainty. We can not afford to waste, and yet we want our families to have the best we can offer them.  When you dry foods, they keep long term, take less room in the cupboard, and we use every little bit of what YHVH God has blessed us with. 

 Shalom Shalom 

Marla Silva @ floridagypsy   


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now