I Just Called to Say I Love You


Today is a beautiful day. Warm to the touch… oh, what heaven in the middle of fall. I'm sitting in a cafe, in a circle of internet, something that has been absent for weeks at a time this trip. The morning coffee is still my very favorite, sharing it with you, despite the fact I dislike posting from the phone. It gives me a better appreciation for my laptop. As I look out beyond my table, the perfect day or a perfect day smiles back at me. Where sweating it out in a gym would totally be a crime, so I took it outside… running uphill –both ways, or so it seemed to me. Perhaps too much vacation has made me soft. I try not to think of home, my extending family sending me pictures, the annual raking of the leaves, miles of piles, for the leaves that have finally let go… absent are the flowers that once upon a time wafted through the meadows. Oh, yes. They are gone, gone, gone…. Space had been cleared, to make room for the new…same place, next year.

IMG_4598.JPG

It is a beautiful day nevertheless. This is the kind of day that feels like eternal sunshine and happiness. Today is definitely a beautiful day.

I wanted to take a moment and thank all of those that have continued the #MarketFriday challenge in my absence. I cannot even begin to tell you how much that meant to me, especially as I was clicking through them this morning, reading them. Touched beyond words at so many, giving me the pleasure. Thank you once, again and again. Greetings from the Caribbean. Somewhere out there.

0P2A2385.JPG

It had been a little bit of work and a lot of pleasure that has taken me away, but, I will be back this weekend. Perhaps I should begin crying now? I hear that it is borderline frigid there. That has become unacceptable to my brain. It is still speaking of sun and shine and definitely beautiful days.

Home again
Home again
Jiggety Jig

It has been almost a month that I have been gone, and honestly, the carefree living of the islands couldn't be any more addictive. What is not to love, when your eyes capture the beauty of each moment? of course, we all know there is no such thing as perfection, but, I also know that perfection is definitely overrated. Sometimes, you need a shakeup to make life more interesting. Ah, yes. I can still find my perfection in there somewhere.

IMG_4378.JPG

Despite being surrounded daily by the eclectic beauty, the vibe, the people, there is this place inside of me that misses home and the people in my life, including you.

IMG_4353.JPG

So. I wanted to say hello with the small chance I got. I'll be home Sunday night, so don't forget to save my spot for me!


Flowers. There must always be flowers to color my world.

image.png

"Let your life lightly dance on the edges of time, like dew on the tip of a leaf." - Rabindranath Tagore

I knew before I saw you
Your touch would start my turn
From the bottom to the top
To a place I can breathe
Once, all over again

With you, but alone
The night almost gone
I know how I feel
Getting off this spinning wheel
Again, all over again


And just like that, these words are done. I want to thank you so much and just know that although much sun and shine are going to be used up today, I can guarantee that there is still a little left in my heart. Have a most fabulous day!



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram



Thank you for visiting my post 💖 Because of you, I come back to post, again and again. Keep it classy, people. Kindness counts. Wherever you go, whatever you do.


I always post this poem down at the bottom of my posts. It is one that has become so near and dear to my heart. I only post the most famous part of it, but, wanted to post it in its entirety today.

they set my aunts house on fire
i cried the way women on tv do
folding at the middle
like a five pound note.
i called the boy who use to love me
tried to ‘okay’ my voice
i said hello
he said warsan, what’s wrong, what’s happened?

i’ve been praying,
and these are what my prayers look like;
dear god
i come from two countries
one is thirsty
the other is on fire
both need water.

later that night
i held an atlas in my lap
ran my fingers across the whole world
and whispered,
"where does it hurt?"
it answered,

"everywhere"
"everywhere"
"everywhere"

warsan shire



#Steemusa is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

SteemUSA.jpg

PHC-Footer-05.gif



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center