TV cartoon series: Combination of good and bad effect

Tom and Jerry, Doraemon, Shin Chan, Motu Patlu, Dora the explorer, Peppa Pig—how many shall I mention? These are all frequently seen cartoons. You may ask, how I know these names? Because I see these cartoons regularly! In fact, bound to see this sitting with my child. The number of cartoons I watched in my childhood, more than that I have seen at this age with my kids!

C53C5BD8-A9AF-4365-A37A-1DAE088D6A3A.jpeg
Image source

I still can remember, in my childhood, my favorite cartoon was Thundercats. I had a dream to have that kind of sword of mine at that age. At that age we had one of the requirements to watch cartoons but not the only option. We had many things to do. Running, jumping, playing in open fields, fighting with friends, flying kites and many more.

But what about our kids?

Here I am considering the urban children only. They are used to apartment living culture. Their world is to go to school and come back home, watch TV cartoon, complete homework, eat, sleep and from next day same routine repeats. Then where is the way to grow as free and fearless human being? We need to think seriously.

As parents, we often make the environment for our kids to watch only cartoon during their leisure time rather playing or making fun with them. Kids are happy, and we are also happy with our gadgets in our hand and roaming through facebook, twitter, whatsapp etc. I am not blaming rather this is the fact for maximum people including myself. We have less time to give our kids!!

So, are watching cartoons harmful for kids?

As mentioned in the headline, this goes both ways. The issue is how we will handle this. There are many cartoon series which are very good and helpful for knowledge gathering for kids like- Dora the explorer, Sisimpur, Mina etc.

On the other hand, some cartoons create bad impact on children mind like Doraemon. Here, the cartoon shows how to escape from education and tell lies. These type of cartoons are the obstacles to explore the mental development of children.

Apart from cartoon theme or good/bad effects, watching TV continuously for long period hampers the vision of eyes and mental growth. Sometimes children grow as one sided. The can only receive but not able to deliver. Autism is one of the reasons by watching TV continuously.

As we are unable to make our urban flat culture like village, the only thing we can do to give our child enough time to ensure their future as a normal child. Allow them to watch TV or mobile as little as possible. Educational cartoons or animated films they can watch but not for whole day.

Today’s child is the next generation leader. So, we have to ensure their future and our next generation leader who will guide the society.

Thanks for your attention.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center